1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power Calibration Area Full error, still need help.

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by ecko123, Apr 7, 2005.

1. ecko123

ecko123 Member

Ok, I have tried almost everything. I have a BenQ 1620 OEM Dvd-rw in an Usb enclosure and I can burn files ok, however whenever I try to burn dvd Iso image files I always recieve the error. The burner is new and I have searched quite a bit around the forums. I had made sure it was set to DMA mode, turned off the IMAPI, set the buffer level at 20-30mb. I use TDK DVD-R 8x discs and set the speed at 2.4x which is the slowests. Also, I've tried using Nero 6.6, Dvd decrypter and Alcohol 120% and all give me that error. The test modes are fine, but when i do the actual burning it doesn't start because of the error. So there's really no other way I can find that might fix it. Sorry, if I'm a newb to this forum, but I hope some1 can help. Thanks.

2. baabaa

baabaa Active member

3. ecko123

ecko123 Member

yea I had already read that post, however I doubt it's an issue with the media nor firmware. thanks for your help, hope some1 else can help me solve this issue.

4. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

So what happens when you try different media? Have you tried a DVD-RW? You need to eliminate media as a possibility as that is more than likely the cause.
    Your burner does a multi-step power calibration test before the burn. These are test burns to set the correct laser power and are performed in the PCA. This OPC test is initiated by your DVD burning program and is a required part of the DVD Specification. It is not required to burn data discs.