1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power Calibration Error ... again ? I've tried everything...

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by thestress, May 18, 2004.

  1. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone. I know this sounds like Deja Vu to everyone of you expert guys, but I am still in the middle of this annoying problem whith Power Calibration Error when burning DVDR media .

    I wouldn't bore you you with this desperate plea for help if it weren't the fact that I already have tried everything described in the forums. I have searched through the net and couldn't reach to a solution. I am still cursed with the Power Management Error.

    I use Pioneer DVRA05 and burn with Nero 6 some different type of media (mostly princo). At 1st, time to time I couldn't burn at full speed, so I changed it to 2x and it went ok. Some days later it just couldn't even burn 2x or even 1x! Kept having the same error. I still try and sometimes, 1 in maybe 15-20 attempts, I can burn at 2x. Doesn't seem to be the hardware problem, since I can burn CDR's at full speed.

    Here's a list of what I've done so far:

    Removed and reinstalled all the burn software in the comp.

    Changed the administrative tools configuration.

    Changed media. Had tried princo budget, princo, datawrite, mda and memorex.

    Bought myself a cleaning disc which didn't work . Cleaned it for 3 times now.

    Updated my firmware through the Pioneer website. It didn't work so I had it updated later through rpc1.org.

    Can anyone help me out of this mess ? I hope I don't have to buy a new recorder.

    Thank you












     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Most will say try good media. Try Verbatim or Ritek. Also would suggest getting some RW's until you figure this out. Here is a thread that might help. Do you have 2 burners? DVD & seperate CD burner?

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/84144
     
  3. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Those aren't exactly the best media :) As flip218 suggested, quality media such as Ritek G04 or Verbatim are a good place to start. Power Calibration errors are usually caused by poor media or sometimes a burner that's dying.
     
  4. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi. First of all tks for answering to my call. As for the problem itself, now I can't even burn dvds less than ocasionally (however I can burn cdrs - I am doing it right now, backing up my things before a enventual hard disk format). After trying so many different things I think I didn't mess only the pc up, but also my brains. Now when trying to burn 1x (which didn't work) instead of the usual power calibration error, I get "internal target failure". I forgot to mention that I also have checked up and changed my previous hardware config and swapped the IDE cables. As for your question, I have only this burner DVD and CD Burner, and an Asus CD-rom that plays only cds (not CDRW), they aren't connected to each other. DVD Burner Secondary Master and CDROM primary slave to the HDisk. But I had already changed this and didn't work.

    Hint me please. I'm running out of brain cells.
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I'd highly suggest trying the good media before getting too discouraged. Unlike CDs where you can get passable results with damn near anything, the single greatest favor you can do for yourself when burning DVDs is to start with quality media.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    JMLS-166S/Plextor PX-708A/Plextor Premium[/small]
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2004
  6. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok People thanks for the feedback but now I understand why we call this a Burner, it has started to burn me from the inside. First thing in the morning I went to a store to buy Verbatim, Ritek and MMore. Tried each one and NOPE ! Nothing. Then again, I gave up. I went to a shop with a tech and put there my PC so they could fix the problem. 6 hours later I went there to get it back and they told me it was probably a software prob, since they tried another Pioneer DVD recorder, and it kept having the same error. Their suggestion was that I should clean my hard disk up, backing up everything and then formatting it. So I did. Been all night doing it, with the hope that after that everything's gonna be alright. So I try it again, this time with my brand new verbatim dvdr media, and say what - Still the same.
    I am running out of options. Will I have to dump this ? Please help!
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2004
  7. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't understand one thing: If it is dying, why can it burn cds at 16x (full speed)?
     
  8. mark666

    mark666 Guest

    Have you tried another program for burning.
    Copytodvd or DVD decrypter.Nero causes problems for some people.Also check in device manager to make sure DMA is enabled.Make sure the IDE drivers are native windows,if not uninstall them, Re boot and it will install windows drivers.
     
  9. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi! Yep , I've tried using other programs. I generally used Shrink and then Nero. After this incident I tried to use DVD decrypter withe Nero, Shrink with Dvd Decrypter, Clone DVD or InstantCD/DVD. All give me the same answer. As for the IDE, I already replaced the old cables for brand new ones - that was one of the first things I did.
    Sunday I'm going to try my dvdr on another computer so I can learn where it's the problem.

    Thanks dude.
     
  10. mark666

    mark666 Guest

    You replaced IDE cables but you didn't say if you checked DMA enabled or the drivers?
    Have you got Roxio Easy CD Creator installed as this can cause conflicts.
     
  11. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, I am sorry . I checked it up already, everything was as it should. No, I don't use Roxio Easy Cd Creator. I thank you for your concern, though. Sunday I will try the dvdrecorder in a friend of mine's place. I'll have news then. Meanwhile, if anyone can help...

    Tks again Mark
     
  12. mark666

    mark666 Guest

    Just been looking in another forum and there are a few people having Power Calibration Errors with Pioneer burners and the only cure has been a replacement drive.One guy used a lens cleaner and it cured his problem?
     
  13. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yup, used that too. Cost me 10 eur, a cd which afterall didn't fix the problem. Maybe will have to replace the drive. It will depend if it works or not on another computer.
     
  14. Amiral

    Amiral Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi folks!

    i had the "power calibration error" too ...
    i tried everything too ...

    cleaning, other dvds, dma, lower speed, ...

    nothing works.

    I don't know why and how but now it works perfect again.
    The only thing i've made, was to change the region
    of the DVDburner in the properties of the drive
    under Windows. (from region 1 to region 2)
    I can use now every kind of DVD+-r now and burn them
    at normal speed (4x).

    I hope this info will help you.

    bye
     
  15. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Typically Power Clibration errors (which you can almost make come up by simply erasing a CDRW) denote a dying drive and one can squeeze off more useage from the thing by burning slower. If the burning slower trick doesnt work then you are prolly out of luck ... maybe flashing the firmware might help you tho.
     
  16. Amiral

    Amiral Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    in my case, i bought the drive last week.
    i had burned only 4 or 5 times when I received
    this error the first time (with Nero).

    since i've changed the region, no errors anymore.
     
  17. neilm247

    neilm247 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    regarding the power calibration error this happens to me every second burn. if you go to the nero website they give a list of reasons, one being that there is not enought power being given to the drive.
    i turn off my computer, give it 5mins, restart and burn again.
    It is annoying but what can you do?
     
  18. kbm

    kbm Guest

    I was getting the power Calibration Error about every other time I burned. Tried everything to fix it with no luck. Bought a new burnner and have had no more problems. I figured I saved money by buying a new burnner because now I do not waste Disc or Time.
     
  19. see4

    see4 Guest

    I was having the same problem with an IO Magic dual format drive for some time now. Went into the device manager and checked DMA settings with no success. Uninstalled both my drives, and reboot Windows XP, and still nothing. Ironically enough, when I used winISO to make an image of my avi backups to burn to dvd, I was able to burn with dvd decrypter. I only use premium media, soo I know that was'nt the issue. Also uninstalled Nero 6, and used Reg Cleaner to remove any remanant files. Reinstalled latest version of Nero, and still nothing.

    I finally updated the firmware for my drive, and magically it works flawlessly now. Try doing the same. I suspect that the manufacturer of the drive was lazy in testing the capatability of their drive.
     
  20. thestress

    thestress Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey people ! I thank you all for the help but I have already bought myself a new recorder and put the old pioneer to rest.

    Nothing worked! So why waste more time and my sanity on this ?

    Tks for everything!
     

Share This Page