1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

power on problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Azrea1, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok guys i need a little help on my friends pc. he has an amd 3500 plus, bfg 6600, cosair 1 gig (2x512), and a bfg mobo. the problem is when i hook up my 600w psu and press the power switch it turns on for a second then turns off(no post/video). right now this not in case it laying on a peice of card board, but its not touching any metal, still could this be the problem?if not what could?
    also all componits r tested except the mobo and cpu,and r working
    thx alot for the help!!!!
     
  2. jazbebies

    jazbebies Guest

    Looks like you havn't connected the 4 pin power connector to the motherboard to give the additional power to the cpu.
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I doubt it, if that was the case, it would probably power on but nothing would happen (screen blank, keyboard not functioning, etc). What make is the 600W power supply? If it's new, it may be a faulty unit, if it isn't, it might not be a very good unit to start with. Check that you haven't disloged the cooler, and check for any potential problems with components inside the case.
     
  4. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im useing the psu in my pc so i kno its working, the heat sink is tightly fit on with artic cream. im almost positive i used the 20 to 24 pin convrter but ill try again to make sure. is there anything else that could cause this problem? thx again i love ad tech support ;)
     
  5. jazbebies

    jazbebies Guest

    This was the cable i was referring to-

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh lol yeah i have that in. is there any other possible problems that would cause this?
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,072
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try clearing the cmos. does the videocard need extra power?
     
  8. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    k ill try that, and no the video card is just standard no extra power connector, and its working. im getting a new case and psu sometime this week and im gonna try hooking it up in that but some how i think the mobo might be bad, its the only conclusion i can come to with theses symptoms.
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Is the PC new? If not, did it work with a different power supply?
     
  10. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the PCs not new, but the power supply works perfectly fine in the PC im using right now i dont understand why it wouldnt work in my friends.
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    What are your hardware specs like compared to his?
    and once again, what make is the power supply?
     
  12. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    antec is the make not sure why that matters seeing as its working. but my spec on the pc are roughly the same amd 3500+, nvidia asus nforce4 chipset. and a 6600 gt with ocz 1 gig (2X512)
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    The make is very important, as cheap-ass power supplies can break well below their rated wattage, and take all the components in the PC with them. With Antec you should be quite safe though.
    If the motherboard in your friend's PC hasn't been tested and is new, it may be faulty.
     
  14. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so it not being in a case would have no bearing on the pc not working correct? also would the pc not being in a case hurt it?
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,072
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no is i usually test out a board out of the case especially when it is a replacement board from a rma
     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Just obviously bear in mind you do still need cooling if you're running a PC without a case for a while.
     

Share This Page