1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

power supply for 2600 xt

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by levern, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. levern

    levern Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys,i'm thinking of buying an ati 2600 xt but my power supply for my system is stock 300 watts.do you think it will handle this card?
     
  2. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No because it probably came with your prebuilt computer, and those are crap. Save your self a lot of trouble and spend a little on a good PSU, you'll thank me later.
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    A decent 300W unit might handle it, but as Abuzar says, your typical 300W unit is far from decent. Buy something like a 430W Thermaltake and have done with it.
     
  4. levern

    levern Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    cheers mate,think i'll plump for a 600 watt psu,hope it fits in my case,its rather compact!
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Not just any 600W unit,it has to be a good one. it also doesn't need to be anywhere near 600W, read what I wrote. As long as its a good manufacturer, 430W will be enough, if you buy the cheapest 600W unit under the sun you risk destroying your entire PC. It happens often, so it's no joke, do not buy cheap power supplies.
     
  6. levern

    levern Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'll have to bear that in mind and look for a good quality psu,maybe 450 to 500 watts.would not want to fry my pc! I'll get a specialist to install it.thanks for everyones replies.
     

Share This Page