1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

power wire/source/cord for HDD

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by faqman98, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. faqman98

    faqman98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i just got a new 160gb SATA HDD and when i went to install it i realized that there was a data connector for it but no power cord. upon further inspection i saw that there were other places in which i could hook up a power cord to the mobo (if i had one) but they were all labled with SATA 2 and SATA 3 so i was wondering how much one of these babies would run be to get for a new HDD and if i could plug it into one of the SATA 2/3 ports
     
  2. rogeball

    rogeball Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Im assuming your power supply does nto have SATA on it, so you have to purchase a molex converter that will give you a sata power adapter. which is only like 5 bucks on newegg or you can go to a local computer shop and they will more then likely give it to you.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2007
  3. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    rogeball - text only signatures can be 5lines max, pls reword the text to comply
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Sorry fagman, i'm having difficulty understanding what you've written.
    [​IMG]
    You will have several of the type of connectors that fit what is shown on the right in this picture. Do you have any of the type shown on the left? If not, you will need this very adapter to convert them, they're only a couple of dollars.
     
  5. faqman98

    faqman98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    NO i'm talking about the power cord and not the data one. the one i'm looking for is all blue wires
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Er no, that is the power one. There are no blue wires used in a cable that powers a hard drive.
     
  7. faqman98

    faqman98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if thats the case then that is not what i'm missing but in fact the other wires that ARE blue
     
  8. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Indeed, that's the data cable. They can be any colour.
     

Share This Page