1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

princo dvd media

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by leo8013, Apr 2, 2003.

  1. leo8013

    leo8013 Guest

    why does princo get such a bad wrap. Honestly that is what I use for my dvd backups and ps2 backups of what I own. I burn at 1x with a pioneer 104. I have done approx 200 and have yet to have a coaster.
     
  2. Neromania

    Neromania Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well all my princo's burned fine and they play fine...its just their load time is such a variable. Sometimes when I insert it, it loads like any other dvd. Other times, it can take up to a full minute before the movie starts playing. However, ONCE it starts, it plays just fine. The load time has no consistency whatsoever. And every now and then, i might have to eject and reinsert the princo, b/c sometimes it says "no disc". However, I have always managed to get it to work, i just had to be patient and wait a min. Myabe its b/c i use princo dvd-rw's?
     
  3. Neromania

    Neromania Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh ya, let me reaffrm that if anyone thought princo was bad....try compusa brand, supermediastore house brand, and kyphermedia. They are IMHO the biggests scams in dvd world
     
  4. xtremedjs

    xtremedjs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I agree. Princos are not that bad. Good for the value of the disc. There are worse like you mentioned and also much better. It all depends on what you want to spend, and the quality your looking for. Like K-Mart vs. The Buckle.
     
  5. airbus

    airbus Guest

    My Toshiba sd4700 does not play these well and many other DVD ROM stand alone players won't play these discs. My XBOX plays them fine and my Sony 715 stand alone player plays princo fine. I have quit using these because of compatability problems with many players.
     
  6. effiee

    effiee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Princo play on my sony dvd player but not well on any of my other players. They start skipping and freezing.
     
  7. japrile

    japrile Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Same here ...they burn fine but once in players the skipping and frezzing starts. Pioneer A05 1.21.....has a friend with the same drive up to 1.30 same results.....I find that Optodisc are the best choice for me , and the cheapest although not as cheap as Princo ...oh well.
     
  8. effiee

    effiee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think that I learned my lesson. I am never going to buy Princos again. I think that I am going to try Riteks next.
     
  9. allin

    allin Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I bought a 25 pack of Princo 4x dvd-r and have had a couple of coasters already. I backed up a couple of movies and at the end of the disc the picture just freezes. I have to be honest and say the next cake of discs I buy will be ritek.
     
  10. nd595

    nd595 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just bought a 25 pack of princo 1x white top, purple dye discs. I've burned 10 so far with no problems. The load time on one is a little slow, disk feels wierd around the edges though. So far i'm pretty happy. Worked in both my computers and in my ps2 and my standalone. good discs for a great price.
     
  11. nightfly

    nightfly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We've been using princo, purchased at the computer fairs for under a buck each. They're marked at 1x, but burn and play fine at 2x on my Pioneer A04 with firmware 1.33 and both friends Pioneer a05's with original shipping firmware. Just out of curiosity, I tested some of the first disks I made and they play with no problem. I have to wonder about the software and other hardware involved though; I've had problems with disks burned with Nero and Gear, and have been using RecordNowMax exclusively now for a long time and haven't had a single coaster since I tried dvdxcopy. I have a P4 1.8 with 1.5 gig ram, all scsi system other than the dvd burner, but the other systems all run all ata drives and have a p3 1.2. All are running W2000 fixpack2.
     
  12. joblow

    joblow Guest

    NightFly, I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one who have discovered that bad burn with cheap media come usually because of the burning software. I also make some coasters at the beginning with Nero(the burn wasn't compatible with all the players I have tested), then before saying it was because of crap media I switched for RecordNowMax and no more problems about compatibility. I think it's the reason why in the DVD2One site they suggest to use RecordNowMax and not Nero.
     

Share This Page