1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem burning dvd with dvdshrink & nero 5

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by dave375, Jan 29, 2004.

1. dave375

dave375 Member

i'm new at this so go easy on me. i'm using dvd shrink 3.1 and nero 5 to back up dvd 9's, but i am finding that the copies can be quite jumpy and pixelated towards the end of the disk, normally the last couple of chapters. any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Hi Dave,
    The first thing you need to do is make sure you do your back-ups with very clean and un-scratched source DVDs. (check yours for a scratch near the outer edge)

This is important because if problems like yours occur, this becomes one less thing to worry about. (always start with a clean disc)

Don't buy cheap media, go for the good stuff, your problem is most likely caused by this.

What are you playing your back-up in? Does it pixelate in your computer?

3. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

Yup, sounds like a cheap media issue to me.

4. sergioch

sergioch Member

I am having exactly the same problem, same software (DVD Shrink + Nero 5). Also, let me tell you that the first 5 DVD backups I did had not errors at all. Lately, every backup has errors (5 new ones), usually in the latest chapters. I did not change the media (Verbatim DVD-R) or anything else. Also, I have noticed that if all the resourses of the PC are dedicated to the backing process less errors appear. But still the quality is far from the original one. Just to complete the picture, my PC has 512K RAM, Intel 2.4GHz processor and MSI DVD-+R/RW.

5. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Hi guys,
    Heres a cool tool you can check a bunch of stuff with.

http://www.dvdinfopro.com

Really useful for checking your source discs in for read errors, checking your drives and probably a bunch of other useful stuff too!

Frank

6. sergioch

sergioch Member