1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Extracting DTS encoded DVDs

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by secretpal, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. secretpal

    secretpal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello,
    I see that whenever I try to extract a movie containing DTS audio, DVD shrink by default unselects that audio option, If I select it and burn, the menu doesn't navigate & the DVD hangs.
    I have also tried to extract the full movie using DVD decriptor & tried burning in a dual layer media, but the same problem remains.
    Any help would be great.
     
  2. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have never had trouble w/DTS. It may be the DVD itself.
    To have Shrink select DTS, you need to change the DVD Shrink Preferences.
    Click on Edit then select Preferences
    Click on the Stream Selctions tab

    All types includes DTS, AC3, LPCM
    AC3 aka Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
    LPCM (Linear Pulse Code Modulation) typically on music, concert DVDs.

    You really do not need both DTS and 5.1 audio.
     
  3. secretpal

    secretpal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the info. I'll try.The issue is not with the DVD.let me explain. When I extract any DTS or DTS ES encoded dvds 100% (to burn them in a double layer disc). The DTS encoded DVDs are extracted without any problems, but when I play them, the Menu gets stuck.

    E.g Movies like Blade III.
    I usually use discs like Verbatim, TDK.

    I'll try your option & update.
     
  4. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You don't need to use Shrink for dual layer burning, there is no need to encode anything. With dual layer you are making an exact copy of the original. Try using ImgBurn, it will copy all including all audio on the disk.

    http://www.imgburn.com
     
  5. secretpal

    secretpal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the great information I'll definetly try. But now this raised another question.
    If I have a extracted DVD (done by DVD Shrink to 4.7 Gig),containing DTS ES audio track , can I use Image Burn to burn it in a DVD ???
    Or In other words, what do you suggest to successfully extract DTS encoded DVDs and burn them in single layer DVD medias ??

    Thanks
     
  6. arniebear

    arniebear Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    8,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I use RipIt4Me along with DVDDecrypter and Nero Recode for my movies. Never had problems with sound but then I use the 5.1, since DTS is usually so large and takes up space. Unlike the video file, sound is not compressed so the file size remains the same. You can use RipIt4Me and Decrypter to rip the movie and then Imgburn for DL's, you can also use ImgBurn to burn for single layers after you have compressed.
     
  7. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have backed up a number of DVDs w/DTS only using Shrink.
    I had no problems, but I never (almost) keep the menus.
    I just want to see the show.

    Maybe you could try IFOedit to correct the navigation problem.

    If you leave off the DTS is there still a navigation prblem?
     
  8. secretpal

    secretpal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Please try keeping the Menus for DTS movies & let me know if you have any issues. The way to test it, when the menu appears, suwtch to audio options & select DTS, the screen usually hangs there.

    This issue does not happen if I leave DTS & extract the files.

    Earliear I have tried using RipIt4Me then used the extracted file to burn a double layer DVD, but the issue remained.
    This time I'll try Image burn .
    About IFOedit I see that people complained that it does not work in XP , how do we bypass the issue ??

    Suv
     
  9. 56delray

    56delray Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry, but I am out of the backup game for awhile.
    I have the net and that is about it.

    As to a problem with IFOedit, I have not seen the complaints you mention.
    I have XP Pro and used IFOedit any time Shrink and /or Decrypter would fail.

    I know there are new programs that make it easy, but I like to know how to do it myself.

    Sooner or later Sony will shut them down like they did to Decrypter.
     

Share This Page