1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem that needs desperate attention.

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by moonghost, May 30, 2007.

  1. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've been searching around this site and I haven't found anything EXACT to my problem, so I thought I'd post it.

    I recently purchased a 100 pack of TDK DVD-Rs from Amazon (so returning is a hassle) Usually, my burner is fine and it reacts normally to DVD±R media. however, when i put these disks in, it cause my computer to move slowly, and it won't do anything with them. It's almost as if these disks are making my computer freeze. Any ideas?
     
  2. JVC

    JVC Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    A lot of times, when one goes real slow, it has somehow gone into PIO mode. It needs to be in DMA mode. Try this:
    To ensure your drives are operating in DMA mode: (1) Control Panel, (2) System, (3) Goto the Hardware Tab, (4) Device Manager, (5) IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers, (6) Right Click on Primary IDE Channel --> Properties, (7) Goto the Advanced Settings Tab, Make sure both drop down boxes say 'DMA if Available', Click OK,(8) Right Click on Seconady IDE Channel --> Properties, (9) Goto the Advanced Settings Tab, Make sure both drop down boxes say 'DMA if Available', Click OK, (10) Reboot.(Thanks to Praetor)

    I'd also stay away from TDK discs. I used them once (25 pk.), and had to reburn every one of them, to better discs. Try Verbatim or Sony.............
     
  3. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok. i did what you said to do, and one of them did say PIO only, so I switched it to DMA. but that didn't fix the problem. it still runs really slow, and if i try to do something (like right click the drive in My Computer) it will go into "Not Responding" mode. Any ideas?
     
  4. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry about the double post. Well something happened and i let my computer sit with disk inside of it for a couple of minutes. It took really long, but it finally read the disk to the point where i could do stuff. but, when i tried to burn an image to it, i recieved a message saying "Power Calibration Error"...?
     
  5. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    jeez. i'm sorry again for another post. but there is no edit button for posts....i fixed the power calibration error via googling the problem. but it still takes a really really long time for the dvd to load. does anybody know what could be going on?
     
  6. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am so sorry for being probably the most annoying person in the world right now. I'm going to start over.

    I did what JVC suggested. It didn't really help with the problem. It takes an exceptionally long time for the dvd to load, and when I try to burn after that, my Nero Express 6 tells me that I have a Power Calibration Error, that I tried and failed to fix. Is there anything else that I could do, or should I just go and buy a new burner?
     
  7. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    it could be that your burner's firmware is out of date..
     
  8. dvdchick

    dvdchick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    does it do this with any brand of disc?? is it slow even if you have no disc at all in the drives?? do you defrag?
     
  9. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no it works absolutely fine with no disks. and i never had a problem with dvd-r's before. and i updated my firmware yesterday, and it still didn't work. is it possible that my computer just won't read this particular brand? sort of like a computer prejudice against this brand? lol.
     
  10. JVC

    JVC Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Computers definitely like some brands of media, better than others. (It has to do with firmware)Try a different brand. Also try this:
    Go into your Device Manager, and find your drive. Right click on it, and choose "Uninstall". After it uninstalls, reboot, and let Windows detect new hardware, and install new a driver for you.
    Good luck!

    EDIT:
    moonghost..........
    Look the the upper right corner of each of your posts, and you should see an icon of a pad and pencil? Click on that, and you can edit that post. That's how I edited this one.......... :eek:)
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2007
  11. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh jeez. thanks for telling me that. i feel like a fool! and i already tried that uninstall thing. it didn't work. so are we throwing in the towel? should i just get a new burner?
     
  12. JVC

    JVC Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  13. moonghost

    moonghost Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alright well thank you everybody. i appreciate it. my brother-in-law said i could borrow his external burner till i use up my disks. then i'll look into getting better media. thanks again!
     
  14. IHoe

    IHoe Senior member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    before you throw in the towel on your burner...... what is the make and model # of your burner.... can you copy and paste one of your Nero logs so we can see what's happening.... we could tell more with a log, found here:
    Nero 6 history log location: Program Files>Ahead>Nero>NeroHistory.txt
     

Share This Page