1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with Azureus

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by kingjoker, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. kingjoker

    kingjoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When ever i'm dowloading something off azureus everything runs fine for at least an hour then my whole internet connection dies. My only solution to my problem now is to restart my modem which becomes really unconvient. can anyone please help me.
     
  2. chunkhead

    chunkhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Your modem wouldn't happen to be a D-Link would it?

    I have a D-Link 504T that does that. The buffer fills up, but doesn't release anything. Eventually it fills up too much and crashes!
     
  3. darkelf1

    darkelf1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, i think i might have the same type of problem, i have a 6.8Mps internet and can get great d/l speeds and web pages load instantly but after a while i cannot get web pages to load, and Internet Explorer keeps giving " cannot connect " page to everything i try to search for.
    i am connected but have no "traffic " on my modem.
    a restart seems to fix it, but am trying to find out if this is a modem issue or net issue( explorer????)
    i am using USB bt voyager 100 modem....
    this has been very reliable until i have got this new speed off my ISP.
    thanks for any info
    darkelf .
     
  4. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Limiting your max global connections in Azureus to 200 or less may be the answer. Has been for most people with this problem.
     
  5. kingjoker

    kingjoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    and where would you find this max global connection
     
  6. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Kingjoker

    You may have to be in advanced mode-Tools/Options/Mode

    Then Tools/Options/Transfer. It is the last of the options where you fill in numbers about half way down. Might have to check max connections per torrent, right above it, if that is above 200.

    I think working torrents have to be changed individually. Right click-Show Details-then Options tab.

    Works for about 3 out of 4 people. Hope you are one of the three.
     
  7. kingjoker

    kingjoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks to eveyone that replied espicially you jeff i got it working. One more questio what are the chances of me getting caught for dowloading copyrighted music.
     
  8. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Good to hear.

    Do you have the SafePeer plugin enabled? Plugins/Installation wizard-choose "by list from sourceforge"

    This will greatly reduce your chances. Not 100%, but if you were on a torrent with a MPAA tracker it will generally block referral.

    Same or similar to PeerGuardian-I use both but I think SafePeer alone is OK.

    Encryption also provides a limited amount of confidentiality.

    Other than that who knows? Percentage wise-unlikely.

     
  9. kingjoker

    kingjoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You the best jeff now i can sleep at nite knowing my download is running.
     
  10. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just so you can sleep even easier. Every situation I have seen has warning letter first. So that is pretty much worst case scenario.

    One other thing-have you ran a speed test and adjusted your Azureus settings accordingly? If, not you should. The upload speed is what is important. It can make quite a difference in download speed.

    If you haven't, and feel like it, you can run the test a few times and post your average here and I could give you the numbers. Its basically those global connections and items on that page.

    If you want to the Sun Java test here is a link from their wiki:
    http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest

    If not, enjoy. I know I've found lots of good music I did not know was around.
     
  11. kingjoker

    kingjoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yea now im dowloading 150kb/s are the movies worth dowlaoding
     
  12. kingjoker

    kingjoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    avg dwload speed 5000/kb/s upload speed 500kb/s

    Im not so sure about these results i dont think my computer that fast.
     
  13. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Once you figure out a few things movies are good. VLC player is a start. But figuring out the good torrents is important.

    I should have pointed out about kbs (kilo bits) and kBs. (kilo bytes). 8kbs=1kBs. So your 500 kbs=63kBs approx.

    Tools/Options/Mode/Advanced
    tools/options/transfer
    50 kBs max global upload speed-about 80% of total
    0 kBs max download speed (unlimited)
    5 max upload slots per torrent
    116 max number of connections per torrent
    194 max number of connections globally
    Click save at bottomm of page

    Tools/Options/Queue
    2 max simultaneous downloads
    2 max active torrents
    click save at bottom of page

    This should speed up your future torrents. To see how you are comparing to the swarm add the swarm average speed to your columns by right clicking in an empty area in the download section of your my torrents page and select column setup-tick Swarm average speed (and availability)-press apply and OK. You should be doing better than the swarm in almost all torrents.

    The availability shows whether the full file is available on the torrent. If the availability number is below 1.0, then the full file is not available and it is probably not worth even starting.

    Boy that was wordy.

    Anyhow, good luck.

    Cl

     
  14. kingjoker

    kingjoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    One more question for you jeff i been waiting to ask if this works for 3/4 people what happened to that one guy it didnt work for.
     
  15. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    As far as I know several were just out of luck. I know I wouldn't be too happy if I was in their shoes. A couple of others it was a hardware (router/modem) issue.
     

Share This Page