1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem with copying ps2 game......

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by zomgbbq, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. zomgbbq

    zomgbbq Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok first of all i know how to copy ps2 and ps1 games, i've tried it before for a lot of games, even the new ones such as God of War 2 etc and yes i copied games properly and was able to get them to work on my modded ps2. My 3 most used methods of copying games are using Nero 7 Ultra Edition and DVD Decrpter.

    When i use Nero, there're 2 ways i copy games. Most of the time i just choose "COPY DVD" and it works most of the time. If it doesn't work, i save the image onto my desktop and then burn it onto a disc.

    When i use DVD DECRPTER, it's pretty easy i just choose "READ ISO" and then "WRITE ISO". I've tried both methods be4 and i did copy a lot of games properly, i also read this thread about using DVD DECRPTER here:

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/117975

    So yea just to clarify that i know how to get it working so ppl don't call me noob or watever......anyway onto my problem.

    My friend borrowed FF12 from his friend and i borrowed it yesterday to copy it. Since the disc doesn't belong to my friend he has to give it back 2morro, so by the time someone reply me i won't have the disc anymore. I used up 3 blank discs and use all the copying methods i know of and couldn't get the discs working on ps2. Since i won't have the game by 2morro i saved the images using both Nero and DVD decrpter onto my PC. The 3 discs i burnt all showed the "PLAYSTATION 2" title when i load them in my ps2, but then they show a black screen and doesn't load the menu. I waited for about 5 mins and then the screen shows "PLEASE INSERT PS2 DISC" with the red background. Well i just don't get y it shows the Playstation 2 title and doesn't load the game at all.

    I asked my friend and he said that maybe the disc is a DVD 9. He said DVD 9 discs are usually over 4GB, but i checked and FF12 is only 3.8 or something, it's less than 4GBs for sure. This is the only game i have problem copying, also i had problem copying San Andreas as well, those are the only 2 games i can't copy for some reason.

    So yea plz help guys i would really appreciated some replies. Also, can someone tell me how to check if your blank dvd disc is double layered and if it's layer 5 or 9? Is there a program that checks that for u?
     
  2. immortal5

    immortal5 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm guessing your using a modchip. I backed up this game and use swap magic and it works flawlessly. I used DVD Decrypter to rip the image and Nero to burn. And the way to tell if the disc is dual layer or not I don't know what kind of disc you are using but every kind that I have every used says whether it's dual layer or not. If it's not it will say 4.7. Or you can always just put it in your drive and you will see how much free space is on the disc. The only reason I think your copy isn't work is because you are using bad media. Yes I know you copy many games before and they always work but some game just need really good media for it to work. Have you tried a different brand of disc or going from DVD-R to DVD+R and vice versa. FF12 is single layered so you definitely don't need a dual layer disc.
     
  3. zomgbbq

    zomgbbq Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thx for ur reply, i think i'll go buy a different brand for the dvds :)

    btw, do speeds alter the difference as well? If i buy at 4x is that alrite or should i burn at the lowest speed possible?

    Lastly, wat's the difference between DVD-R & DVD+R
     
  4. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    DVD-R goes easier on the laser and are good for most PS2s. Vice versa with DVDplusR
     
  5. immortal5

    immortal5 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The general rule of thumb is to burn at half the speed of the disc max speed. So 16x should be burned at 8x and so forth. I usually tell by just looking at the burned disc itself. I have burned 16x disc at 12x which were flawless while other 16x must be burned at 4x. Just burn one from the spindle and look at the pattern. It should stay smooth all the way out to the outer edge and not have any noticeable rings or dark and light parts. It's hard to see but just put it under a lamp and you'll know what I'm talking about. I think the whole dvd-r and dvd+r difference is debatable but I would never hesitate to use one if the other didn't work. But if you do decide to get +r do make sure you booktype it.
     
  6. zomgbbq

    zomgbbq Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thx for the help, um wat does booktype mean?
     
  7. immortal5

    immortal5 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Booktype is only for DVD+R. In programs like nero and dvd decrypter you can change the way a disc is burned. Instead of having to be burned as a +r disc you can booktype it to be burned as a DVD-ROM, which is what ps2 games are. Some DVD burners don't support this so you would just have to check if yours does.
     
  8. zomgbbq

    zomgbbq Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ty so much, i love this forum the replies are great and fast as!! Thx again really appreciated.
     

Share This Page