1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with Kazaa Lite

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by mtrpls, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. mtrpls

    mtrpls Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey all,

    I was wondering if anyone can shed some light on the problem I'm having with Kazaa lite...

    After I download song files, all mp3's, using Kazaa Lite, I then open them up in Windows Media player and they don't work. The track is moving, but there is no music played. No audio whatsoever. The computer's system volume is turned up, other song files work, but it seems that all of the files I have downloaded off of Kazaa Lite recently do not have audio.

    I have even tried downloading the same song from many, many different sources...up to 10 different sources, different file sizes and what not, but none of them seem to work.

    What is going on? It shouldn't be my computer, as I just recently installed Windows XP from a clean slate and the system is brand new.

    It also seems that older songs have audio, but some tracks by new artists just released have no audio.

    What's going on, and what can I do? Thanks all in advance for your help.

     
  2. mishaaa

    mishaaa Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Maybe you don't have the latest codecs for those songs
     
  3. reetann

    reetann Guest

    If you have bought kazaa contact them if using the free version try overnet free program or eDonkey also free.I bought kazaa standard that was having the same trouble you have so I them bought the premium version still the same trouble.If you have service pack 2 installed on your PC you will have to go into control panel D/C firewall and add kazaa then click apply and ok.Hope it works.But you get the same shared folders from the free programs good luck
     
  4. HDS

    HDS Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok. first of all i do not use kazaa. but i know my stuff. do you get sound for anything else? like email or when u start the windows session or log off?? if not let me know and i will show you how i fixed mine. it has to do with updating your audio drivers to the latest version. that happens sometimes when you had a previous version of windows and you install a newer version.

    here's what u need to do: [right-click] on the icon "My Computer". then click "Properties". a window should open by the name "System Properties".

    now click on the tab "Hardware". in the "Device Manager" section click on "Device Manager". another window by that name should open.

    around the bottom of the list there should be this [+ Sound, video and game controllers]. click on the + sign. now you will have a list of all your audio drivers.

    now you will need to do this for all of them one by one. [Right-click] an item and click on "Update Driver..." leave the settings as they are (Install the software automatically (Recomended)) click on "Next"

    it should be "searching" (the computer is looking for newer versions of your driver) if it finds a newer version (which is good and will solve the problem) there will be a "process" bar that will appear and update your driver.

    one the "searching" is done, click on "Finish". know that not all the items on the list might have a newer version. so you need to do these steps for all of them.

    now if this doesnt work let me know and i shall find something else to help you. email me if u need more assistance. hackingd7@hotmail.com
     
  5. Kompmuso

    Kompmuso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi All,

    I've been having the exact same problem with Kazaa Lite downloads!

    Now, I'm a computer musician, so I'm fairly savve with the sound settings on my computer and nothing is awry as far as I can see. And I've allowed the firewall on WinXP to use Kazaa.

    The files that I download themselves actually don't consist of silence. On inspecting the files in a sound editor there appear to be low level blips of noise at regular intervals in the tracks that I download. Also, the bit rates are unfeasibly low (8 to 32 kbits/second) and the file lengths, when played, can show as being over twenty minutes.

    This would suggest that the bit rate setting is corrupted somewhere along the line, but I am at a loss at how to fix this, assuming it is the only problem with the sound file.

    Also, and I don't know this for sure, it does seem to be happening with newer releases. Older files I download don't seem to be affected, but again, I could be wrong on this. An example would be, I downloaded The Pretenders version of Stand By You no problem, but the Girls Aloud version refused to be downloaded.

    Again, like the first post, I have tried downloading the same song from different sources, to no avail.

    Dunno what to think, if I find out any more I'll post again. By the way, is anybody having the same problem with video files? Is it just mpegs, or are wma files affected too?

    TTFN

    Kompmus
     
  6. reetann

    reetann Guest

    I have found that even paid for versions of kazaa dont work only very few on line me and may be a couple of others.Have had no trouble with sound on new albums on free overnet or eDonkey as I have B/B the speed is terrific I did think at first the trouble was too fast a download on kazaa.But play back just a shreek.
    Think kazaa has met a fatal fate???
    On overnet or eDonkey no good for movie downloads.Get the title yep no probs but are all porn under a named film!!!But as I like Older tracks no luck on free programmes just wish you could get what you paid for with kazaa There's no refund.So think more than twice!!! before you purchase any programme think copy writes are winning.But then you can buy a DVD or CD an copy no trouble so don't see the sence.
     
  7. reetann

    reetann Guest

    Hi Folks after trying all the advice from Kazaa with service pack2 I have no deleted the service pack and what do you know it works.
     
  8. Poiuyt666

    Poiuyt666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all,

    I have the same problem and I'am running XPpro Sp1
    So what's next?

    Greetings, Poiuyt
     
  9. reetann

    reetann Guest

    Don't know if this will help but I have AC3 filter you can get one for free just do a search.Not sure if you mean the programme will not log on or problem with sound.You could try if you have copied programme onto CD uninstalling all kazaa Gold reboot then reinstall.If you have not copied prog onto CD and have bought it you will have to contact kazaa as its now on a different download page.This is a link https://www.Kazagold.com/1.6.0/c/CustomerInfo.php type in the email address you used when you bought it.
    Good Luck Merry Xmas & Happy New Year.
     
  10. mwegr

    mwegr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi-

    I have the same problem. I cannot play my downloaded songs. These songs seem to be newer. When I download them, the "duration" reads 20 min. or so, much longer than the actual song.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
     
  11. Kompmuso

    Kompmuso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    Still no joy with a solution to the above problem. Just to explain to Reetan, I am running Kazaa lite, so this is not a problem with the full pay version. And all my other songs are playing fine, just a large portion of newer releases that I have downloaded from Kazaa. And this is not a speed problem either, my bog standard modem can hardly be described as fast.

    A solution of sorts is to move to another P2P provider. Because of the troubles I've been having with Kazaa I've moved to Shareaza. Faster downloads and no problems with downloaded files.

    Am looking up Kazaa forums to see if they are any help, but there seems to be very little mention of this particular problem.

    Normally I can sort out any problem, but sorry Mwger, this one has me stumped!

    Kompmuso
     
  12. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Kazaa lite is very full with fake files put there by the big organisations who want you to download from the likes of napster

    try software like peerguardian
    or protowall with blocklist manager ....and watch how many times protowall will block someone trying to send you a file which will NEVER work

    if you do not wish to pay for songs I would suggest you move on from kazaa lite as its best days are sadly behind it :((

    happy holidays all:))
     
  13. reetann

    reetann Guest

    Hi MWEGR.
    Only other thing I can advise download free version of overnet and or eDonkey 2000.Try new songs on these if you have the same trouble
    then I would also say try a new P2P.I downloaded "Blue"album and Jools Holland & Tom Jones album new out this xamas using overnet both play fine have you up graded your windows media player to version 10?I use Roxio media player but both these new albums play fine on either one.The only reason I prefer kazaa is I can find lots of older songs 50's 60's and 70's but my trouble with kazaa was sp2.But will try a newer song on kazaa and let you know.
     
  14. reetann

    reetann Guest

    Hi as previous I have downloaded Avril Lavine using kazaa gold plays fine also downloaded using overnet that plays fine also.So I can only suggest if you want to continue using kazaa you will have to purchase the programme at least you don't get ads or pop ups costs about £16 but will not work with sp2.
    As you may prefer new music if I was you I would download the free version of eDonkey the ads are not invasive only in top right hand corner and also will work with sp2.
    Happy new year to all out there.
     
  15. Kompmuso

    Kompmuso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DaOsT,

    Thanks for your advice! Was beginning to suspect just as you say that the files were fakes, particularly as it tended only to happen with new files.

    Had tried to install Kazaa-Lite Resurrection to see if that was a solution only to singularly fail to get it to connect to the network, and that was after following the all the forums and loading all the recommended patches. Looks like you're right re. Kazaa Lite.

    Also tried and spectacularly failed to install Protowall, but it looks like a fascinating little programe, once I can get the little bitched installed! Between the two programs I whiled away an entire day of frustration, but I will persevere...

    Got Peer Guardian up and running though, cheers for the tip!

    Oh, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!
     

Share This Page