1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with my new HDD

Discussion in 'Xbox 360' started by hizzoze, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I apologize if this has been covered, but I have been searching all over the web for an answer. I purchased a used 120 GB HDD for my 360 to replace my 60 GB one. I also purchased a data transfer cable, which sadly, i realized too late that is not official Microsoft, which I've read is the way to have it work. So when I plugged the new drive into the front of my 360, I did not get the automatic "transfer cable detected" message. But I went ahead and formatted it as the previous owner had left all of their stuff on it. After formatting was complete, i could only use it as a 16 GB flash drive and the 360 would not detect it when i connect it on top. I can plug it into my PC which recognizes it just fine and shows that it is now simply an extenal HDD for my PC minus the 16GB xbox allocation. All I need to do is get my Xbox to recognize it so I can format it. I don't care about data transfer at this point. I will re-download everything if I have to. I am currently formatting it to FAT32 via my command prompt, but it is taking so long, I am still exploring any possibility. thanks for any input.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  2. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, after all that, formatting did not work via my cmd prompt. i downloaded a program called guiformat, which did the trick in abot 5 seconds. Formatting was successful, but XBOX will still not detect that here is any drive (when attached to main port at top.)
     
  3. Vato

    Vato Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Why don't you get the "offical MS cable"?!?!
    Maybe that is what is causing the problem?!?!
     
  4. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I didn't realize that:1. I wasn't getting it and 2: There was this much a problem with a non official. What's done is done. Even if I got one now, it wouldn't help. That is not my issue.
     
  5. LightTrench

    LightTrench Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So it will go on the top of the Xbox, but won't be detected?

    I'm guessing it was a custom built hard drive. See if you can open the case up and tell us what hard drive is inside the hard drive case. I'm guessing you will have to flash the firmware with the hddss.bin if it is a compatible hard drive.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2012
  6. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Correct about it not being recognized when installed on top of the console, but it is a genuine XBOX 120 GB hdd, one of the black ones from the older Elite consoles. I really would prefer to not have to buy any flashing tools or anything. I just need to format it to be compatible with the console. It seems like there should be software out there that can easily do it, but I've searched high and low and the one program I've found did format it, but it still wasn't recognized. Is there a differnt format other than FAT32 I should try?
     
  7. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    It may be an official (looking) case, but still could be a non-official harddrive.
     
  8. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It is an actual XBOX HDD. That is not the problem. it worked fine when I got it, but when I formatted it via the non official transfer cable, it took it down to a 16 GB flash drive. The hard drive is not the problem.
     
  9. LightTrench

    LightTrench Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't remember the drives even being allowed to be detected by windows with the Xbox hard drive firmware.

    You can make any fake hard drive look official. The hard drive case I got for my 250GB hard drive had all the fancy stickers from serial number and hard drive info to the holofoil and warranty stickers.

    To recreate partitions, you will need to use the Firmware Flashing Tools.

    But if it is not an official drive or WD Scorpio Blue, WD Scorpio Black, WD Scorpio, or WD Velociraptor drive it will not work.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2012
  10. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ugh, the HDD is not the problem. The problem occurred when I connected it via the non-official cable which caused the console to format it to 16GB flash memory, which freed up the rest of the space for use on PC. It worked fine as a 120 GB drive before I did this. The cable caused the problem and I am aware of that, but now I'm just trying to reverse it. I do need flashing tools. That is what I've been trying to find. I found some thread on other sites on how to do it, but i couldn't get my PC to boot in DOS to run the hddhackr.
     
  11. LightTrench

    LightTrench Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Are you having a specific problem booting into DOS mode?

    You need the DOS files LINKS IN NEXT POST

    If you are booting from a flash drive, you will need LINKS IN NEXT POST

    Simply put HDDHACKR.exe on the storage device you are using to boot into dos (Floppy or USB) and use HDDHACKR to create partitions 0/2/3. You will not be able to play original Xbox games unless you download and restore Partition 2. You will need to search the internet for this. I think it is a 200MB file if I remember correctly. It is findable on some torrent sites. You will then need to restore it with Xplorer 360 Extreme.

    If you need any other help, just ask.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012
  12. luigirez1

    luigirez1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need the DOS files Here.

    If you are booting from a flash drive, you will need This.
     
  13. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried to boot from a flash drive and while I can usually figure out how to do stuff like this, I definitely had trouble with that. The thread i was going off of directed me to some dos image files, but i didn't even know which one to use. Are you saying that the hddhackr alone will boot into DOS? What i saw on the thread I was using, I disconnected my pC's hard drive/motherboard and connected the XBOX hdd to it, plugged the flash drive in and started up the pc. All I got was an error message saying something to the effect of "no boot manager." Thank you for your input. It sounds like you know exactly what I need.
     
  14. LightTrench

    LightTrench Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The DOS files should be in the executible that I linked to. Just put those on the specially formatted USB drive and boot from it. If you have problems making it bootable but you have all the required files then there is also a way you can do it via command line in windows.
     
  15. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you so much. i will try it when I get time. Just so I don't have to keep bothering you, i want to be clear. I will format my usb flash drive to a bootable drive, put hddhackr as well as both of the dos folders you linked to onto the root of the drive. Do I still need to disconnect my primary drive and connect the xbox hdd in its place? or can I simply boot from the dos drive straight from Windows? Also, I already reassembled my xbox hdd, so do I need to take it apart again or can I use the transfer cable. I already made a backup image of my current xbox hdd with xtaf gui. I assume once I do the hack, I can just restore that image to the new drive (original is 60gb, new one is 120). Or should I format it in my xbox360 first before doing anything. I know i sound ignorant and I really do appreciate the help. Thanks. Also, the xbox hdd is a Hitachi, not WD, if memory serves.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
  16. LightTrench

    LightTrench Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't think it is required to disconnect your main hard drive, but it is recommended so you don't wipe your hard drive out. Make sure enter your computers boot menu or change your default boot order in your motherboards BIOS if it isn't set already. I'm not sure if the transfer cable will work, you may have to open the hard drive up if hddhackr can't detect the USB to SATA adapter.

    As for restoring the image, I'm not sure but I think that should work. Did you backup all the partitions? You may need partition 2 if you want to play original xbox games. The only problem I could see happening with restoring the image is if restores the partition instead of the data. That could make the size incorrect. But you should definitly format it in the Xbox first.
     
  17. hizzoze

    hizzoze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Was able to boot to DOS using the files you linked to. I ran hddhackr and was able to create the partitioins, but could not format because it wasn't a Western Digital drive. I reassembled and put in my xbox hoping it would at least detect with the new partitions, but still nothing. I guess since it's not WD, I'm sunk. Unless you know of anything else, thanks for all your help.
     
  18. LightTrench

    LightTrench Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think you may need the HDDSS.bin for the drive. I'm guessing it is missing the security sector. I'm not sure if HDDHACKR supports Hitachi. You may need to get a program like Hex Workshop or some other program that supports editing hard drives. Of course you can always pirate it, but buy it if you like it.

    Just try to follow this: http://digiex.net/guides-reviews/co...box-360-how-flash-your-hddss-bin-windows.html

    And you can probably use this: http://digiex.net/downloads/downloa...ector-download-hddss-bin-hddss_120gb-bin.html
     

Share This Page