1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with my ps2?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by xenozelda, Sep 16, 2004.

1. xenozelda

xenozelda Member

Hi, i'm kinda new to ps2 mod and stuff. I have a pre-modded messiah 2 on a scph-39006(v8 i suppose) ps2. When i tried burning ps2 iso on dvd-r, it just goes into the red screen. I have tried dvd+r, dvd-r, both verbatim, and i used dvd decrypter to burn the iso at 2x. When i burn a ps2 cd game(prince of tennis) on a maxell cd-r, it can work but have a sound when reading. I have sucessfully played other dvd-rom games that i have bought. I even tried to copy a dvd-rom game and burn it on a dvd-r disc using nero, but it still can't run(the dvd-rom game can run, but not the burned dvd-r)
    Could it be something wrong with my ps2 that it can't read dvd-r and dvd+r? Because Verbatim is a good brand and i don't think ps2 will reject it

2. pinkyD

pinkyD Member

hello, I am getting my PS2 upgraded to the messiah 2 chip in my PS2 also. Before I used the magic 3 chip but am wanting a more advanced one. Anyways, I copy my own PS2 games and have always had great success. I use the same program as you, dvddecryptor, to burn my backups.

Now the first question I have is...Have you ever played a DVD-R backup copy on your PS2? If you have successfully before then we know it isnt your console.

Another thing may be is that you arent booting the game right on the console. The messiah 2 has a mode on it where it goes into stealth mode(turns off). It may be in that mode where you have to turn it back on to boot the games. Do you know how to function your modchip??