1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with Swap Magic 3.8

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by iceman195, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. iceman195

    iceman195 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a SCPH-50001/N NTSC PS2, I'm using Swap Magic 3.8 CODER and this is the problem;

    1.I boot the Swap Magic DVD disk
    2.I swap my burned import game at the correct time(burned with DVDDecrypter at x4 and lower speeds)
    3.I select "normal" than "ntsc"
    4.I hear a quiet ticking(probably just the disk drive thinking)
    5.Then it goes back to the PS2 Browser and the red screen comes up saying that i need to use a PS2 disk.

    Please tell me what I'm doing wrong. They are Brand NEW disks and my laser is clean.

    I'm using a Maxell DVD-RW 4.7gb single layer disk. Thanks.
     
  2. Stumped75

    Stumped75 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm getting the same problem even with loading from USB. Unlike others I'm not going to tell you to check out Swapmagic's site (that's about as usefull as an udder on a bull.) On monday I'm going to talk to the vendor that I purchases mine from. Luckly he's right in my town. When I find out more I'll post for you.

    EDIT - I have 3.8 also and SPCH-39001 Date code 2D (disks Philips 4.7 & Alcohol 120% with Playstation 2 setting for CD and Custom for DVD.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  3. iceman195

    iceman195 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    To do what I am going to tell you, you will need:
    1.A FAT32 formatted flash drive
    2.A Memory Card (I used a blank one just in case but I think that it requires 3-4Mb)

    What I did to fix my problem was to download FreeMCboot noobie package at http://freemcboot.info/noobie.html and follow the instructions. After you do that I recommend that you read the instructions on how to configure FreeMCboot so you know what you are working with. Before you burn your game (I hope that it was a backup that you own...) you will need to patch the image file with ESR Disk Patcher: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=WOYDPPGD.

    If there is any step that I missed or a problem that you are having just post telling me what it is. Hope I helped.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
  4. Stumped75

    Stumped75 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Gave up trying to figure it out and just went and had a Mobo4 chip installed. Even the retailer had no idea why it wasn't working. Swap magic wouldn't even let me boot from USB
     

Share This Page