1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem with swap magic

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by andys, Feb 6, 2007.

  1. andys

    andys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have just bought swap magic II set 3.8 ....
    i install magic keys and after i insert the swap disk

    everything work fine until i insert the copy game. it display
    to the screen "please only playstation2 disk" or something like this... why??

    i have playstation slim console

    please help....
     
  2. chanman1

    chanman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    probably a bad burn...what media did u use? what speed?
     
  3. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Either a bad burn like the previous poster said or you didn't properly placed the magic keys right. I can go into a little bit more detail about the key part but that's if everything you did was absolutely flawless and you still have trouble playing. Oh and btw, if you're trying to play a game that's above 4.36~4.38, which really depends on what game you're playing because there are some clear exceptions, then you may have to rebuild the game if it's a high TOC game like FF12 (escapes me if it's a dual-layer) and dual-layer games that sometimes require you to rebuild the game onto a DVD5 disc or unless your burner can support and burn dual-layer discs, then you have two options of what type of disc you may want to use. Then there's always a TOC refresh if that doesn't work, for high TOC games only and then some - there are a few exceptions too, but I forgot which.
     
  4. andys

    andys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the message i get is "no data to the cd"

    i don `t know what speed or with what software was written because i bought it from a shop..
    ( maybe is only for chips)


    <Z3120>
    game that's above 4.36~4.38--- if you mean the used space on dvd is about 4.34

    i think that magic keys are working fine cause the dvd is spin with the door open
     
  5. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well to answer your curiosity about the key part, it was because of one problematic key, the one that's suppose to hold the magic switch in place, was slightly misaligned and I had to readjust it because it wasn't firmly holding it down properly. (very rare occasion) As for your games, make sure you use the right Swap Magic disc; Swap Magic DVD for PS2 DVD games and Swap Magic CD for PS2 CD-Based games. If that wasn't it, then most likely it could be the media, how you burnt the file, and such, that's causing the problem. What version is your PS2? - the SCH on the back of your PS2. What game is it that you were trying to burn and what programs did you use to burn it? If you could tell us what burner, and if the firmware is upgraded; and perhaps, the media you were using, it could help better explain what it is that you were having trouble with so others can help you out too.
     
  6. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If by software, you meant the Swap Magic CD/DVD disc you were using, I'm pretty sure that that's not the case unless there are problems with the loading screen, like it looks distorted, or like some defects some people have, the CD/DVD Swap Magic discs were improportional to the clip belt that holds the disc in place.
     
  7. andys

    andys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the console model is SCPH-70004 -- pal

    the game is need for speed-- carbon , and i bought it from a shop that is doing copy games and i don`t know with what program was burn it ..

    and i use the correct magic disk i `m sure for that
     
  8. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try using the recommended programs located within the "PS2 Software Discussion" section such as DVD Decryptor, IMG Burn or Nero. They're used by many and people have had lots of success with them; though, there are exceptions of course. I still use my Roxio burn program and it works fine - believe or not. As for where to get the programs, I believe some links to them may still be avaliable and active. They're either hosted on rapidshare or megaupload. Try looking under recent threads with a similar problem to yours since some people kindly host it up or link them for you. Some/most are freeware too so you can easily try to search them through a search engine like google and such for them.

    As for media: what media is it that you are using? You could use such brands like Memorex or Fujifilm temporarily to test the playability of your PS2 but to show and know how well you've been burning these games; it is preferred that you get better media like Taiyo-Yuden, Verbatim, Maxell or perhaps Sony or Ritek, whichever works better for you, so the data you're burning onto the disc is done almost flawlessly. Burning with better media usually/always (some people after 1000s and thousands of burning with Taiyo-Yuden DVDs never had a single coaster for example) results in a game burnt near perfection with minimal errors, so you won't run into any problems while playing like freezing, problem with loading or just plain bad data, unless the iso you're using has the error, bug or glitch itself.

    Since your PS2 is most likely a slim model, try getting your hands on DVD+R since I believe the slimline console's laser has an easier time reading DVD+R compared to the old fatties that can still use the DVD-R disc - and make sure to booktype it to DVD-ROM (make sure and see if your burner can do so. If not, it isn't really needed so don't worry) Booktyping your DVD+R media DVD-ROM can also further enhanced the readability of the game you burnt from what people have said. Hell, even I think so too =P. To improve the readability, use quality media, have a decent or an outstanding burner, upgraded with the latest firmware, if you can, and close all miscellaneous process running in the background of your CPU so your comp is devoted to using as much resources as it can during your burn process. (You don't have to turn other programs off while burning beucase I've seen and heard people burning at like 8x, 16x while doing whatever else and their games still work nicely though it isn't recommended if your comp is that high-end)
     
  9. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    "miscellaneous processes"

    Sorry for the double post.

    Sometimes you may need to rebuild the game too; and in some cases too, rebuilding the game and removing the dummy files that clog the game's capacity usually leads to better speeds and better playability. For more information about rebuilding games, check out the many stickies under PS2 Software Discussion or PS2 CD/DVD Backup Discussion, and use the search button too on finding out how to rebuild games and with what programs, including instructions, which is better then me explaining and already done.
     
  10. andys

    andys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks a lot Z3120 for your helpful informations

    i `m also believe that the problem is the dvd game but because i don`t have a dvd writter i can`t do it my self know.

    i i will go through your threads to burn an other game on my friend`s pc to see if that is working..

    i hope the problem is with the dvd game i bought becauase is the only one i use
     
  11. andys

    andys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    to check if the problem is my dvd game can i use swap magic for backup dvd movie ???
     
  12. andys

    andys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  13. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ahh finally got back; my bad for not answering your question for the past few days. If you still haven't solved it, I would just recommend trying to play another burnt game that you've burnt or have around to test. And uh, am I'm reading this currently or you've bought the game you're trying to play at a store that's selling these copy games?

    If that is what you were implying, from what I read, it could just be a bad burn from them. Bad media and such could be assumed from this. If I were you, learn how to burn your own games. It's easy to do as long as you have the equipment though there are a dozen or two games that are difficulty and very excuriating to burn due to the complications that arises from doing so ex. God of War, GT4 and etc...
     
  14. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry for the double post. Bad habit, I know...

    My mistake. So you did say you gotten it from a store. Don't know why it took me so long to realize that simple fact you stated. If that's the case, then really, it's most likely and definitely a bad burn from them. Either that's the case or it could quite possibly be your PS2 if they burnt it on a DVD-R or something. Is it your first time getting one from them? Is the place you bought it from actually reliable? You're better off, assuming you know any friends that have the proper equipment, to help you extract the files from the ISO of the game onto the computer, create an IML file and use the IML file to recreate a new ISO and burn that ISO with a burn program such as DVD Decryptor, IMG Burn, or Nero. Considering your CPU/disc reader can still read the data on the disc, I say hope isn't lost and you could try going over to your friend's house like you've done so to solve this problem by reburning the game.

    If there are any dummy files in the disc, it would be a good idea, in most cases, to reduce the size to like 1 byte. In most cases, it has solved many problems with loading the game and improved the overall gameplay/quality of the game.
     

Share This Page