1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by LewisMc, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've had my burner for a couple of months now, it has just only decided to stop working, it won't pick up any of my dvd disks, it will pick up a normal cd-r fine but not dvd

    im using nero 5
    and the burner is a MSI + and -
     
  2. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    What is the Brand of DVD media?
    Model number on burner?
    Is the media new or have you used this media before?
     
  3. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the brand is datawrite the colour is grey
    DR8-A (MS or M5 8408A
    always have used nero 5
    and just any general dvd software i use, e.g making my own movies, it doesnt pick up the disk
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2005
  4. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I was asking is the brand of DVD media you are using is new? Even if the brand isn't new is it a new package (just opened)?
     
  5. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    its not new no, it works fine when i format the pc and then after a while it will stop and then suddenly start working but this time it hasnt seemed to start working
     
  6. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  7. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Have you checked to make sure your drives are still in DMA mode?
     
  8. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes i've made sure of that, im going to check the driver update now
     
  9. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have no experience with flash at all, and to be honest im not good in the BIOS either
     
  10. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You don't have to go to your bios.. Just download the file and follow these instructions..
    How to use:
    1. Extract the file and Copy DVFLASH.exe and 150D_SCR.bin to the destination folder. [bold]To make this as easy as possible put the two file in a folder under your C:\ drive called FLASH[/bold]
    2. Reboot your PC under real DOS mode and enter the target folder.[bold]To enter DOS when your computer is booting up continue to hit the F8 key and select DOS[/bold]
    3. Execute "DVFLASH 150D_SCR.bin".[bold]At the C:\ prompt type "CD\FLASH" hit enter at the next prompt type "DVFLASH" and hit enter[/bold]
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2005
  11. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  12. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well i have uninstalled my driver and reinstalled it and nothing happend still, i will have to try the other way
     
  13. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Have you tried updating your firmware as described above?
     
  14. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well i ended up having to format and the burner still isnt picking up the dvd disk
     
  15. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
     
  16. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    not got round to it yet, it doesnt pick up any dvd disk i burnt from my racing seasons, and any blank, so i am going to do the fireware
     
  17. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    This is what Firmware updates are for!! To recognize otherwise unrecognizable media. This should have been the first step..
     
  18. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im on windows XP btw
     
  19. LewisMc

    LewisMc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so i dont have DOS
     
  20. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You can go into DOS by doing as described above in my previous post!!!!!!!!!!!
     

Share This Page