1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems Backing up DBZ Budokai 3

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by sepharih, Jan 20, 2005.

1. sepharih

sepharih Member

Hello, i'm new to the thread. My original copy of Dragon Ball Z Budokai 3 was recently damaged beyond repair and I so I broke out the Backup I had made when I first got the game. Unfortunatley I am unable to play the game for some reason. I can load the game up to where it asks you to start or load a game and no matter which option I click, the screen fades out and doesn't come back! I've tried this perhaps a dozen times with the same result. I would think if it had been a bad backup I burned and/or a bad image I recorded then it wouldn't have loaded at all.
    I do not have a mod chip, i'm using the gameshark 2 to run the backup, as I understand it it works virtually identically to swap magic.
    The backup is burned on a Sony DVD-R 4.7gb 8X media. I've burnt the copy using Alchohol 120%. The game i'm using to swap it with is Final Fantasy X, although I've tried Kingdom Hearts, All the Dot Hack series, San Andreas, etc. with no success. Has anyone else had this problem. Is it how I burned it? Do I need to use a better media like Apple? Luckily I compress all the backup images I make and put them on DVD so if anyone has an answer I can reburn it if necessary. Thanks for your time.

2. Jizmak

Jizmak Regular member

You need modchip or swap magic to load backups.

Gameshark alone will not work.

3. sepharih

sepharih Member

Actually yes it does, well the older model gameshark 2's work. Gameshark found out about this little exploit that there product had and removed it from more recent versions. I forget exactly which versions you can use it with but it basically works like this in the older models.
    -you open up the PS2 to where you can manually pull of the roof of the cd tray.