1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problems backing up mercenaries

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by kat136, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. kat136

    kat136 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    tryed backing up mercenaries, used DVD Decrypter to read iso then write iso when i put it in ps2 with swap magic, i get intro then it freezes. had this with a couple of back ups. can anyone help PLEASE
     
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    you need a patch in order for it to work, do a search. there are a bunch of threads on it here. I just posted all the instructions up the other day.
    here's the short version
    Download this patch http://blake.prohosting.com/wulfie66/merc.zip
    then burn the game to hard drive
    rename the ISO file ptc-merc
    unzip the patch and then copy it to the folder where the ISO file is.
    run the patch and wait 1/2 hour then burn the ISO that it creates for you.
    that should do it.
     
  3. kat136

    kat136 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks
     
  4. teggy

    teggy Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is that for both swap magic and mod or just one of them. Also does it still need cogswaploader?
     
  5. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    As far as i know the game just will not load without using the patch. I know it won't for new or old Swap magic. I do not have my Modded PS2 yet so that i can't tell ya'.
     
  6. annie123

    annie123 Guest

    I am unable to download the link from above to get the patch. cna you please assist. I keep clicking on download but it does nothing at the prohost site.
     
  7. Nappster

    Nappster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I patched the game according to the instructions and I still couldn't get the game to work. I used the patch on NBA Streets 3 and it works fine. Anyone else having a problem with that patch? Or should I try to burn it again? I am using Sony DVD+Rs at 4X because my burner won't burn slower than that.
     
  8. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Did you remember to rename your ISO file? If you don't then you will be able to tell before you burn it. you will select the patch and a few a minute later it will have created a new ISO for you but it will only be like 500MB in size.it should be around the same size as the original and take about a 1/2 hour if it's done right. Do a search here and there is a hugh post on Mercenaries. I am pretty sure that you rename it ptc-merc. If you find the large post just start reading from about page 4 on and you will eventually find the link for the patch and what to rename the ISO file. here is a what post i mean.
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/search/forum_search_results.cfm
     
  9. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Annie123, i tried the link and it works just fine for me. If you keep having problems i can try emailing it to you since i can download it.
    m_swope@earthlink.net
     

Share This Page