1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems flashing Hitachi DVD Drive fw

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by Timmie56, Jun 28, 2007.

  1. Timmie56

    Timmie56 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I finally took the plunge and am modding my xbox 360, so I followed every step of textbook's tutorial and when it come to the command prompt, I type flash32s.bat d 1221 and it says it is invalid. I checked and I am trying to run it from the right directory as far as my knowledge goes.
    I tried searching for others with this problem, but yielded no results, if this has been asked before I apologize.


    Thanks
     
  2. monteca

    monteca Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    firstly is your drive recognized by windows?

    Secondly add the command prompt here powertoy,

    Then right click on the x-lg folder and open command prompt here.

    Then type your command. I had the same problem my first flash until i added this
     
  3. monteca

    monteca Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    also your command should be flash24s.bat d 1234 if using v2.4
     
  4. monteca

    monteca Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    also your command should be flash24s.bat d 1234 if using v2.4
     
  5. Timmie56

    Timmie56 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you for your reply, however I have made some advancements. I managed to install the fw, but I used the one without ss support. and that worked, although the first step of the nine failed. It did finish and now when I put in my backups it says I need to update my FW or I can't play.
    I think I'll load the backup fw and start over with your advice. and yes, windows assigns a drive letter and recognizes it and I have it in B mode.
     
  6. Timmie56

    Timmie56 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    UPDATE: I used your advice and it worked!....well the flashing did anyway.
    It still says I must update to play the game. Any help there?
     
  7. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    when you say it asks you tp update, do you mean the game update or it says to update FW? I know you said update FW but I have never seen this myself.

    Also if you do get errors when flashing it can sometimes be because the directory path is too long. Get yourself 'command prompt here' or something like that, then you just right click the firmware folder and it will have an option in the menu then that says 'open command prompt here' and that stops some errors. well it did for me anyway.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2007
  8. monteca

    monteca Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the update the game message is normal....its for online play. watch out for online play with the hitachi drives as they were banning consoles
     
  9. Timmie56

    Timmie56 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm not a huge fan of online play, so I'm not planning on that. So I should go ahead with the update then?
     
  10. Timmie56

    Timmie56 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am unable to edit, so please forgive this double post.

    Final Update: I told it to update and now the backup works 100%. Thanks for your help and patience as I stumbled through this process.

    This thread can now be CLOSED.
     
  11. monteca

    monteca Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Glad i could help and it all worked out for you!
     
  12. bcashion

    bcashion Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi,
    I bought a xeno top gear for flashing my 360, I have a spare sata slot in my dell dimension pc and set everything up. I cannot get the slax cd to boot up, tried it on a usb key aswell , the screen stays black with a _ on the top left of the screen. I tried the 2 wire trick (not sure if i did it right) but still nothing, cannot get it into mode B. I am new to all this so don't know what else to do , I am nearly 14 hours at this and am losing patience. Can anyone help me please.
    I know there have probably been thousands of requests like this so i apologise in advance.
    Thanks
    Sham
     

Share This Page