1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems running Ratchet and Clank Tools of Destruction error message 80010017.

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by wheelstb, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Let me start off by saying I am almost brand-new to the PS3 moding community.

    I just finished upgrading to the latest version of multimmam and I am running Rogero4.3 version 1.4.

    Prior to this I was using MultiMan version 2 and I had made a backup copy of ratchet and clank tools of destruction to the internal hard drive of my PS3. I was never able to get it to run. When I was using MultiMan version 2, I would try to start the game the screen will go black then, I would get a message saying something about previously played game data and it would bring back to MultiMan.

    Now, with everything updated I try to start the game and I receive an message after the game tries to boot that says "an error has occurred during the start operation. (80010017)

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    for a game as old as this i for one never had problems with it... it has no patches... and you don't need to resign it either... i say rip it again i know its a pain in the ass to get 20GB or so to rip but what else can you do? lol... another thing to try is set bd mirror option or set to internal... try running it with a game disk inside the ps3... try them all but start with bd mirror option first... to do that just hover over the game and press square bd mirror option is located on the left side... also run test its located in the same menu... if all fails we will try few other methods ^_^
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  3. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay, I will definitely give each of those options a try. I am new to Multiman and I'm trying to learn the ins and outs of how it works. Can you explain the BD mirror and the test mode options?

    I figure it's always better to understand as opposed to blindly following. Not that I doubt what you are telling me, I just want to know how to work MultiMan better.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  4. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Somehow I got it to work I am not quite sure how. This is what I think I did. I selected the game with in multiman then, went back out to the main menu and selected app data_PS3 game. I also selected bd mirror as one of the options within MultiMan.

    Is this the proper way to consistently launch a game using custom firmware? When I bought the system it was pre-modified, the person I bought it from did demo it for me. It doesn't seem like that is what he did. But it has been so long I do not remember clearly.
     
  5. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    well selecting a game from multiman auto exits to XMB then you just either pick the /app_home/PS3_GAME/ for disk less game or the normal game icon if you have another ps3 game in the ps3... lets say you have DJ hero 2 game inside acting as a game... now you just pick a game from multiman.... lets say uncharted 3 and go back to XMB... now the DJ hero 2 is changed to uncharted 3... if you go up in the menu you will see that /app_home/PS3_GAME/ changes to uncharted 3 as well... usually for better compatibility its better to use the game icon with another game inside the drive... around 30-40% of all games work in disk less mode.. the rest work with another game inside the drive..

    as for different modes for each game they are simply there for better compatibility you tell multiman where the game is located... even though it knows where it is... it does not however know what mode to set or what to fix in case the game does not work... so lets say you have Ridge Racer Unbounded you load multiman pick the game and try to run it from app_home... you will notice all you get is a black screen and the ps3 will crash... BUT if you set BD mirror + internal + direct boot and load the game again from app_home you will notice the game boots just fine.. (^__^) playing with these options is essential to getting games work without crashing the system or hard locking the ps3... so experiment with them see what works best for each game :3
     
  6. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I guess to truly be able to understand the complexities you have to be able to understand what is going on in the background between the operating system, system hardware and game software.

    Thanks for giving me the info.
     
  7. tomne2k8

    tomne2k8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Wow am I glad I read this all my games now work where I was only getting 60% before .
     

Share This Page