1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with DVD ISO's in a v4.

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by dev0id, Aug 29, 2004.

  1. dev0id

    dev0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi There. I’m having problems using DVD-R games in my PS2 v4, with Magic 3.1 chip installed, I’m using with DVD-R Princo 1x-4x. I already tried using Silent Hill 3 and Splinter Cell - Pandora Tomorrow ISO’s, burned in NERO and DVD Decrypter at low speed 2x ~ 4 x in a _NEC DVD_RW ND-2510A, but the console just doesn’t read them. I even tried with CDloader and CDloader V7 using a Slide Card (Home made :) ) and nothing. I never had problems with CD-R, DVD Rip’s, but with Full DVD… that’s another story
    Do you think it’s the DVD-R I’m using? I thought Princo’s where good… but my PS2 doesn’t appear to like them.
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    quite a few users report having problems using princo media would suggest you try a different brand of media
     
  3. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    yeah, princo wouldn't read in my v4. get quality media like ritek.
     
  4. dev0id

    dev0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hum, ok. Any Brands that you recomend? I see that RITEK is well spoken
     
  5. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ritek's usually work fine although Verbatim is probably the best you can get. Try either one burned at the slowest possible speed and see if your problem clears up.
     
  6. dev0id

    dev0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ritek is almost impossible to find were i live, i bought Memorex, but no luck :( i will try Verbatim soon...
     
  7. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Never get Memorex...they're horrible...try Verbatim, TDK or Maxell.
     
  8. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Most stores won't sell the higher quality media because they won't sell against the cheaper stuff they carry. Ritek's have to be mail ordered as well as bulk quantities of Verbatims.
     
  9. dev0id

    dev0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    By the way, should i use dvd+ or dvd-? some people say that + is best, is that true? Anyway, I already find a store that sells Ritek, I will buy some today :)
     
  10. Xman2004

    Xman2004 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if ur ps2 is v4, then i suggest getting -r, as +r may not be compatible
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]V7 PS2
    SwapMagic w/ Slide Card, CD Loader
    HP DVD Writer 420i
    Maxell DVD-R
    DVD Decrypter, Nero, DVD Shrink, Alcohol 120%[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2004
  11. dev0id

    dev0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Damn... I Tried with Verbatim and TDK and nothing, any suggestions?
     
  12. Doy-2

    Doy-2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Has someone with a v4 and a Magic 3.1+ modchip ever booted a DVD-R backup?

    I have that modchip in my v4 since yesterday and I can't boot any DVD-R backups (Maxell & some white covered cheap DVD-R were tried - both burned in 2x minimal speed). So, is there someone with a v4 and magic 3.1 or 3.1+ modchip that ever booted a DVD-R (or DVD+R) ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2004
  13. Doy-2

    Doy-2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Problem solved with DVD-R booting on PS2 v4 + magic 3.1!

    First, I tried Princo DVD-R, Maxell DVD-R, Maxell DVD-RW, Memorex DVD+R all burned in 2x with Nero or Alcohol 120%. The games never booted, we had tu push reset a tons of times, it would never boot. As I was going to give up, my friend asked: "Did you try to put your PS2 in vertical position?". I laughed thinking it wouldn't change anything, but surprise: IT WORKS!! Princo DVD-R and Memorex DVD+R booted (only one Maxell DVD-R booted, but after a ton of reset). Maybe it's linked to the weight or the position of the DVD versus the laser, but for me it's impossible to boot DVD-R when my PS2 is in horizontal position.

    Try this trick! If you PS2 can't boot DVD backups, try putting it in vertical position! Give me news!
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2004
  14. dev0id

    dev0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That is really odd! But seems like I don't have that luck, i've tried it... and nothing, i'm just about enought of that. Guess i'm going to dedicate to fishing for now on. lolo
     
  15. spy2003

    spy2003 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi i have problem with harry potter and the prisoner of azkaban i have backed it up and it is workin without a problem but when i put my swap magic disc in and then put the copied harry potter disc in its works ande it comes up its loading, it loads but it wont play. does anyone know how to get past this problem????
     
  16. )v(3thuD

    )v(3thuD Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  17. spy2003

    spy2003 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi again i try that website but not working so can u send me my email again that website www.swapmagic something lol so i am deaf sometime i understand but not all the time
     
  18. Doy-2

    Doy-2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    After a week, it stopped working.
    Now all DVD-R backups won't boot, even if my PS2 is vertical.
    Damn V4 !
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2004
  19. dev0id

    dev0id Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, I think is unanimous, V4+Magic 3.1 sucks, a friend of mine as the same configuration and the same problem, no dvd copy allowed. Although, I can still run Medal Of Honor, burned on a WorldGate dvd-r (http://www.worldgate.pt/prodlist.php?Familia_ID=5&SubFamilia_ID=22), it's some sort of brand from my country... the dvd-r is damaged, because I can't even make a copy of it... but it still works... lolo
     
  20. Doy-2

    Doy-2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    And where do you come from? You tried other Worldgate media or only one worked?

    In my case I throwed compressed air into the tray and it seems to work.. not as good as before, but after a couple (like a dozen.. or two.. or three) of reset princo DVD-R are booting.. DVD copy seems to be allowed but it is so hard to boot that every time it does we open a beer to celebrate! :p
     

Share This Page