1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with flip top...

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by djclay, Sep 13, 2004.

  1. djclay

    djclay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just got a flip top for my v9 PS2.
    http://consolesource.com/ecomm/customer/product.php?productid=1716&cat=4&page=3
    (this is the one I purchased)

    I installed it following instructions I found on ChipZone.com. Now it won't read ANY discs, SwapMagic or regular PS2 games. It sounds a little loud about 1/2 the time when the disc spins up. Yes, I did put the little white disc from the PS2 into the top of the flip top to hold the disc in place. I have no idea how to fix this and it is quite frustrating, any help would be greatly appreciated. (PS, I went ahead and read all the newbie faqs before posting..I couldn't find anything)
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    take the white piece out of the fliptop and place it directly on the game and see if it loads then.
     
  3. djclay

    djclay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the suggestion, but I didn't have any luck with it. I put it on there and it wouldn't stay in place once I closed the door, so I put a bottlecap in the top of it and it stabilized it, but I still couldn't get the damn thing to read. I even tried putting the bottlecap on the back of it with 2 coins under it into the fliptop (just barely fit) to try and get a snug fit where it could read the disk, but no good there. Bah, I e-mailed the people I got it from but still nothing back from them yet. Anymore suggestions and such would be greatly appreciated.
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I don't think you understood. Open the fliptop, place the game in, then put the white piece on top of the game. its got a magnet in it so it will hold the disc in place. LEAVE THE FLIPTOP OPEN.
     
  5. djclay

    djclay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sweet, tried it, it WORKS!!! Thanks a ton man...lifesaver, honestly!
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Sounds like the actual fliptop is not close enough to the disc to hold it in place.
     
  7. djclay

    djclay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, I've tried to make sure it's snug down on the PS2 and it seems to be so, but I'll be damned if it doesn't make god awful noises if I try and keep the white disc in the flip top. Not quite sure if maybe when I installed it something got under it or what. Even when I place the white disc on top of the game directly...well regular games work fine. However, my SwapMagic CD and DVD boot up but never want to read the game once I swap discs. I even tried DVD Decrypter with ISO read/write and made a backup to test things out on. This whole deal has been a bit of an ordeal...esp since the places who sell you the stuff want nothing to do with you once they have the transaction, bah. Anyways I certainly appreciate the help. Cheers!
     
  8. djclay

    djclay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    PS, when I do SwapMagic stuff...the discs won't even spin for the laser to try and read them. It's quite puzzling...
     
  9. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ok, you load the swap magic disc. once it loads, it stops spinning. You then flip the top up and replace with your backup. then hit x.
     
  10. djclay

    djclay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    right, I do that, but once I swap, the backup disc doesn't want to read/spin. I've even tried a regular ps2 disc to make sure I'm doing it right. Not sure what the deal is. OF course, sometimes when I try and load the SwapMagic disc, I get disc read errors and such. I think it's having trouble reading it.
     

Share This Page