1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problems with raw dump

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by lwatts223, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. lwatts223

    lwatts223 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, i followed the instructions but i got this error message when i tried using rawdump.
    HI when I started thedump i got this error message.

    please help

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.IO.IOException: An attempt was made to move the file pointer before the beginning of the file.

    at System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)
    at System.IO.FileStream.SeekCore(Int64 offset, SeekOrigin origin)
    at System.IO.FileStream.Seek(Int64 offset, SeekOrigin origin)
    at System.IO.BinaryWriter.Seek(Int32 offset, SeekOrigin origin)
    at i.a(String A_0, String A_1, Int64 A_2)
    at i.c(Object A_0, EventArgs A_1)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    rawdump
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/LaMont%20Watts/Desktop/rawdump2%5B1%5D.0/Rawdump2.0/rawdump.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
     
  2. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    silly question - have u got net framework 2.0 installed as per bunny_c's tutorial

    works fine here
     
  3. lwatts223

    lwatts223 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes I instaled it and tried to clean the disc.
     
  4. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try putting the disc in before starting rawdump then click start

    oh nad u do have the file rdump.dll in the same dir as rawdump.exe too dont u

    oh and you are using one of the lg dvdrom models as per the tutorial
     
  5. lwatts223

    lwatts223 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I put he disc in first.
    Where is the file supposed to go? And how do I change it to point there?
    Yes I have the lg drive.
     
  6. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the reason i ask about the file is that when i 1st had problems with rawdump it was because i hadnt extracted both the fles to a folder on the desktop - dont run rawdump from the rarfile extract it 1st
     
  7. lwatts223

    lwatts223 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my drive.
    I bought thelg/gdr-8164bb is that the right drive?
     
  8. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    mine is the gdr-8164b - i think the last letters are just colours only - mine is black - is yours beige? hence the bb? so yes yours is the right drive afaik
     
  9. Menion

    Menion Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The way i did it with no probs is using the same drive you have, extract Rawdump 2.0 onto the desktop, be sure to set the drive in PIO mode. Pop in the disc and run the program, everything should be fine from there if not try a different disc. If still haveing troubles I have been told that some people have better success on the older ver of Rawdump i belive 1.4?

    P.S the Rawdump program refuses to even open up if the framework isnt installed.
     
  10. lwatts223

    lwatts223 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What is plo mode ? And how do you set it on the drive?
     
  11. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    mine isnt PI0 mode its dma so i doubt it is that

    if u really need to change it tho - although i wouldnt its
    devicemanager/ide/atapi controllers/ depending which ide channel ur drive is on right click on primary or secondary ide channel and choose advanced settings there is a setting for slave and master there

    if ur not sure leave this alone as it can screw ur machine up
     
  12. cmatherne

    cmatherne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm having the same issues as the OP. Any ideas?
    Have the 8164 LG DVD-ROM with Net 2.0 installed.
     
  13. Fatslag

    Fatslag Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi i have only had this error message as posted above when i tried to dump a copy of a copy, original dumps dont give this error. well they havent for me so far
     
  14. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you don't need to dump a backup disc with rawdump
    just use imageburn to read the image then write it
     
  15. Menion

    Menion Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Actually on a quick reply to that though your Drive may not be in PIO mode and working, there are many others out there That require it to be. I had the same problem when i first started with raw dump not being able to get it to work and I found a buch of other people with the same issue that said to put it in PIO mode, so I did and has worked perfectly ever sence, So it never hurts to try
     
  16. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no harm in trying just got to be careful with some people as they could end up cocking their system up and will be sure to blame the advisor
     

Share This Page