1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Programs to Use Burning DVDs

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by duncand, Mar 11, 2005.

1. duncand

duncand Member

I have DVDXcopy Platinum. I am running into problems with new movies. I want to change to the newest programs. Not sure what would be the best. I am also alittle confused reading the posts here. People talk about AnyDVD and DVD Shrink. What programs do I need to copy DVDs? I only have one DVD-RW drive. Do I just need one program or do I need a couple of programs? Please can somebody explain this to me. I am new at this. Thanks for the info in advance.

2. bardie

bardie Regular member

Well, this is what I use, but remember it's really up to what works best for you.
    DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, Nero and DVD Region + CSS Free is all that I have ever needed.
    Some people here prefer a different combination, you will see lots here with AnyDVD as well.

3. duncand

duncand Member

So I need all these programs to backup my DVDs? With DVDXCopy I have one program, four clicks and it is burning. Will one of these programs backup my DVDs? Or do I need a couple of them? Please explain.

4. bardie

bardie Regular member

The reason for DVD Shrink is so you can compress a movie larger than 4.7GB so it will fit onto standard blank DVD media, it has no burning engine so you have to use another program to do that.
    DVD Decrypter will copy and burn, an all in one program, but it won't compress.
    Nero is one of the best, in my opinion, burning programs around.
    DVD Region + CSS Free is for breaking protection and for also making your ROM/Burner play all region disc's.
    So if you need to compress a movie you will need DVD Shrink. If you need to break protections you may need DVD Decrypter, AnyDVD or DVD Region + CSS Free.
    If you need burning software you need DVD Decrypter, Nero or the program you are using.