1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Protected Programs Copying

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Oldaussie, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi

    Being a newbie to copying CDs with Protection
    I would like to ask for advise on how to achieve this..
    I have a liteon LTR 52327s burner and I have downloaded
    BlindWrite also Alcoholer 120 1 9 2 1705
    as I have a program that I want to Copy and use as a backup.. I copied it using Clond CD, but it won't work in my computer, you must have the original disc,
    I checked the original in Clonyxxl and it tells me
    the protection is SafeDisc v2.9 with 10 Sculls.
    I have search the net for the last 3 days to try and find how to make a copy that will work..

    Please can someone talk me through it and if I have the correct programs downloaded to do so..

    Regards
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If you're using BlindWrite I'd forget Alcoholer and get BlindWrite Tweaker here http://www.aray-software.com/ . You might as well pick up A-Ray Scanner while you're there since Clony is no longer being updated.

    For a SafeDisc protected game try these settings:

    Open BW Tweaker.

    Under the Basic Settings tab change only two things for now. Set Max Read Speed to 4X and do the same for Write Speed CD.

    Topology tab: Under Writing Topology select Do Not Write Topology and under Read Topology select Never Extract.

    Nothing needs to be set under the Advanced Settings tab.

    Now you can click the Run BlindWrite tab and BW will open up under the new settings. Then select the drive with the original disc and click the Copy button :)

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    Got Indie? http://cdbaby.com/

    My Movies! http://www.intervocative.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Rephaim

    Forum rules! http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2004
  3. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks Nephilim

    will download the programs and hopefully get the copy I need,, only thing it that it isn't a game, it is a data CD that I am trying to make a copy of,, does that make any difference ??

    I have to also download something to open an RAR File


    oldaussie
     
  4. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    also forgot to ask,,,when I copy this data CD can I recopy it from the copy or do I have to do it all over again to obtain a second copy ???

    Oldaussie
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hmmm, data CD. What does A-Ray Scanner say when you run it through?

    WinRAR is a great app for extracting as is ExtractNow (free).

    Once you get a working copy you should be able to make a simple disc to dosc copy of it :)
     
  6. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    A-Ray said

    Signs on CD/DVD indicate SafeDisc 3.20
    whereas Clony xxl said SafeDisc v2.9

    who do you believe ??

    another problem ??
     
  7. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    A-Ray is the correct one. Clony was the king for years but hasn't been updated for quite some time now which is why it's listing an old version of SafeDisc.

    So if you're up against SafeDisc 3.20 I'd try the settings I listed above for BW/BW Tweaker :)
     
  8. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi Nephilim

    Will give it a go, have been away for a couple of days
    and not online, will report to you what occurs
    hope it is in the positive
     
  9. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Nephilim

    Well done as you said with Tweaker and Blindwrite,
    and it burnt, however same as other burnt copies
    that i have done on other programs, all the files are there,as on the original, and you can install the program using the burnt copy, when you click on the icon on desktop, it stalls just before the search engine... to search the databases,
    another strange thing is when you put in the original disc 1 and open up the program, there is a button you click on to go to other discs, I can click on that and install the burnt copy, and search the data,

    but it always get stuck at the search engine stage if you put the burnt copy in first, so if you damage your original disc 1 you are up the creek,

    any clues

    Oldaussie
     
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2004
  11. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes it is called National Burial Index for
    England and Wales Second Edition..4 CDs

    it contains over 13 Million Records

    It is a genealogical program to search records that
    have been compiled and put on CDs

    Oldaussie
     
  12. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well if we can't make a copy our next option is to see if we can get the image to work from a virtual drive. A virtual drive will allow you to "mount" the image you made of the disc and run it off your hard drive as if it were in an actual optical drive. Here's a link to the best one, Daemon Tools:

    http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/portal/portal.php

    There's also a Help page there that shows you how to use it :)
     
  13. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    have downloaded Daemon Tools, and have had a look how to Mount the Image,, Do you use the Burnt Copy ??
    also when reading the Help files came across what was intersting, about Temp Files on the CD being the problem,, So I checked out the original disc and found that there was a Temp file like in the help file,also another one
    SECDRV System File 12KB. (MACROVISION SECURITY DRIVER 3.22.0.0)
    is this the problem ????
     
  14. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You don't need the burneed copy for Daemon to work.

    A120 by default should have set up a folder in My Documents where it'll place the images it makes. Check that folder to see if the image for your disc is there. There should be two files bearing the name of the disc you ripped, one with an MDS extension the other with MDF. If the image is there simply open Daemon and navigate to the A120 folder to mount the image. If the image isn't there (it may have been deleted after the copy process) you can make another one using A120's Image Making Wizard.

    The temp file you found is part of the protection scheme and can't be removed or the copy/image won't work.
     
  15. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, Done all what you said with Daemon
    found the file that Blindwrite had in My Doc file in a folder and set the Daemon Manager to Mount..

    it then said that I needed the following files to make it operate,
    NBI2|data|country.db
    NBI2|data|prov.db
    NBI2|data|Donom.db
    NBI2|data|years.db
    NBI2|data|sfinal.db
    NBI2|data|ffinal.db

    and then the search engine opened up...
    I cannot find any of these files on the original CD,
    so I don't know where they are, and why Blindwrite didn't copy them , but I suppose if you cannot find them on the original Cd, Blindwrite would have the same problem
    they certainly have me beat.... everything seems to be getting just too hard,, I am 65 years old and not used to all this hard to do stuff...
    but if I can I will beat this, and Thank you for assisting me in this project..
    that File.... SECDRV System File 12KB. (MACROVISION SECURITY DRIVER 3.22.0.0)
    what does it do..

    and where to from here ????

    thanks

    oldaussie
     
  16. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Geez, this just gets more and more interesting/frustrating doesn't it?


    If we haven't tried Alcohol 120% yet let's give that a go.

    The settings to use would be the SafeDisc 2/3 profile then set the Read/Write speed to 4X. If the copy doesn't work try mounting the image with Daemon Tools.

    If I'm not mistaken this is a key that gets entered into your registry as part of the protection scheme.


    Let's keep our fingers crossed :)


    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    Got Indie? http://cdbaby.com/

    My Movies! http://www.intervocative.com/dvdcollection.aspx/Rephaim

    Forum rules! http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2004
  17. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well done that in Alcohol 120 and then mounted it in Daemon manager then clicked on Icon..

    same message as before
    it then said that I needed the following files to make it operate,
    NBI2|data|country.db
    NBI2|data|prov.db
    NBI2|data|Donom.db
    NBI2|data|years.db
    NBI2|data|sfinal.db
    NBI2|data|ffinal.db

    then the search section opened up but without the search icon highlighted, so that you cannot serch the base.. it seems to be that the program is split in three ...Installation, database and search stuff
    and you cannot seem to get them all together in the copy,,

    on the hard drive when it is mounted you can open up the search page but cannot search,,,

    using the burnt copy CD you can load the program onto your computer, but cannot open up the search page,
    but if you open the search page with the original ONE
    and then hit the change disc button to go to another disc, {used to searh a later year say in disc TWO.} and you put in the burnt copy, you can search the data in the burnt disc ONE..

    it is strange that you can load the program and search with the burnt copy ...Once the search page is opend with the original disc...

    Where next mate ?????
     
  18. kaferal

    kaferal Guest

    I am following this thread with anticipation. I dont like to overuse my expensive gene research discs, so usually make copies and then file the originals away so they don't get worn out. Not gonna happen with this one, for a while. I have tried all sorts of things and am now really confused. The NBI2 seems to be a difficult one.
     
  19. Oldaussie

    Oldaussie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi kaferal

    glad to hear that you are experiencing the same problem, with NBI2

    what have you done anything different to me

     
  20. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hey fellas, I'm at a loss for what to try next. I've always done PC games and had great success with them but right now I'm wondering if there's some sort of additional protection on these discs.

    Maybe aldaco12 or Shoey can give us some input so I'll give them a holler :)
     

Share This Page