1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps1 backups with AR/GS

Discussion in 'PS2' started by leg4cy, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. leg4cy

    leg4cy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've read some time ago that you can use a backup version of AR or GS in conjunction with a fliptop/slidecard to play your backup ps1 games. i know that backup versions of breaker pro dont work, but do backup versions of AR and GS work? also, what version(s) work with booting ps1 games?
     
  2. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No, you cannot boot the PS2 with ANY backup disc. You must have an original disc to start the backup boot process. An old Gameshark v2 or lower bonus disc w/PS1 codes will work fine as long as it's an original disc.
     
  3. leg4cy

    leg4cy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you cant boot a v2 backup gameshark with a swap magic disc and use it to boot ps1 games?
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2004
  4. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You need the "PS1 version" of GS to boot PS1 backups.
    You can use SM to boot the "PS2 version" but you WONT be able to play PS1 backups with it.
     
  5. leg4cy

    leg4cy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for the info jonka. right now, i have action replay 2v2, gameshark v.19, and action replay max. are any of these ps1 versions and will they help me boot my game?
     
  6. leg4cy

    leg4cy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok. i now have added Gameshark V2, Action Replay v2.
     
  7. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No.

    If the AR disc boots with the Ps1 logo you can use it leg4.
     
  8. leg4cy

    leg4cy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok, none of them work, so im going to go buy a new one. should i buy breaker pro or a psx gameshark? breaker pro is about 10 dollars more expensive but i dont know which is better.
     
  9. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Breaker pro is better.
     

Share This Page