1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Backup Help

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by ramanr85, Sep 27, 2004.

  1. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    Hey I have a V3 PS2(I got it the first day it came out) and I got a magic chip installed into it...However I cant seem to run DVD backups...I have no problem running CD-R games that I backup..Ive used Verbatim DVD-R, FugiFilm DVD-R, and TDK DVD+R, and none seem to load up the game properly...what happens is it goes to the browser screen and after about 2 min I get "Disc Read error" and thats it...can someone help me??? PS: I know my ps2 can run dvd games because the guy who installed my chip loaded one up but has since moved and i have no clue how to find him..>
    Thanks.
     
  2. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    oh yea...I forgot to mention I am tryin to backup NHL 2005 and X-Men Legends...
     
  3. Kerdal

    Kerdal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've had this problem before. Could be a dirty lense, a problem with the chip (but you said you can run cd backups so I guess this is not the case) or the way you burned the discs
     
  4. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    well i know it could be a dirty lens...but i took my ps2 apart and cleaned the lens with a Q-Tip with Rubbin alcohol...but still no success..and i dont think its the chip, and i use Nero 6.0 to burn..i just go to DVD Copy and it copies it for me...so could it be anythin else??
     
  5. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    can anyone help??
     
  6. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try using DVD Decrypter and dvd-r
     
  7. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    I did try once using dvd decrypter and another time wit Alcohol 120 still no luck
     
  8. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not sure, is that the only two games you have tried.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]http://store1.yimg.com/I/collegefanfare_1810_33227575',274,229[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2004
  9. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    When u are burning your games are u doing it at 2x
     
  10. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    yea NHL 2005 and X-MEN are the only 2 I've tried....and yea I burned em both at 2.4X which is the slowest my burner allows...I have a BenQ DVD+/-R driver if that makes a difference......could it be by any chance the media im using?? i use FugiFilm/TDK/and Verbatim Data Plus..do I have to use maybe RiTek???
     
  11. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It could be the media, a lot of people use Ritek..but i use prodisc (white tops) and i have never made a coaster.
     
  12. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    hmm prodisc...by any chance can u buy those in stores??
     
  13. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dont think so, but not positive
     
  14. broodje10

    broodje10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    he, a V-3 is indeed very old, and it is well known for it's faults with dvd.

    U may have to "decrease" the distance between ur laser and disc.

    if that doesn't work u can also "boost-up" the power that ur DVD lens uses. ( no there are not 2 lenses in ur PS2, but there is a "dvd pot" and a "cd-pot" that controls the lens).

    it is a lil hard to do. but if u have 2-3 hours of free time and a steady hand, u can bring this old geezer back to life!!! :).

    it worked for me. I mod PS2 myself, and this is a well known problem.

    here is the link to al ur lens cleaning stuff !

    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/laserPS2.htm

     
  15. broodje10

    broodje10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    he, a V-3 is indeed very old, and it is well known for it's faults with dvd.

    U may have to "decrease" the distance between ur laser and disc.

    if that doesn't work u can also "boost-up" the power that ur DVD lens uses. ( no there are not 2 lenses in ur PS2, but there is a "dvd pot" and a "cd-pot" that controls the lens).

    it is a lil hard to do. but if u have 2-3 hours of free time and a steady hand, u can bring this old geezer back to life!!! :).

    it worked for me. I mod PS2 myself, and this is a well known problem.

    here is the link to al ur lens cleaning stuff !

    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/laserPS2.htm

     
  16. broodje10

    broodje10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    he, a V-3 is indeed very old, and it is well known for it's faults with dvd.

    U may have to "decrease" the distance between ur laser and disc.

    if that doesn't work u can also "boost-up" the power that ur DVD lens uses. ( no there are not 2 lenses in ur PS2, but there is a "dvd pot" and a "cd-pot" that controls the lens).

    it is a lil hard to do. but if u have 2-3 hours of free time and a steady hand, u can bring this old geezer back to life!!! :).

    it worked for me. I mod PS2 myself, and this is a well known problem.

    here is the link to al ur lens cleaning stuff !

    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/laserPS2.htm

     
  17. broodje10

    broodje10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    wooops....

    damn laggy internet hahahaha !!!
     
  18. ramanr85

    ramanr85 Guest

    Hey man thanks a lot for the help I'll try what you said and see what happens..
    But just one thing the part wit adjusting the white cog..I have tried this step before..and i made a reference point the first time i did it...and whenver i adjust the white cog and I put in a game and press reset it automatically goes back to the original point it started at...is this supposed to happen or not??
     
  19. broodje10

    broodje10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    woow, realy ?

    well. i never looked to be honest :S.

    the trick with the pot meters alsways works good.

    sorry man :(
     
  20. broodje10

    broodje10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    u can always use the "diagnose" option in the browser menu.

    put it "ON" and put in the disc that doesn't works.

    the PS2 will search fot the best setting


    read the PS2 manual if u still got it ;)
     

Share This Page