1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 backup "skipping"

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by fr3ak, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. fr3ak

    fr3ak Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I bought Hitman 2 a while back and played it. and I really enjoyed it.
    Something dropped on my disc and it cracked. ( WHERE are the days of undestroyable cartridges!! ) anyway.
    A friend of a friend also had Hitman 2 and we made a backup using DVD-r - none of us has done this before.
    We used Alcohol120% Trail and burnt the disc. seemed fine.
    Put in my other friend's PS2 that has a modchip ( after I found that the disc doesnt run on my PS2 without a modchip )
    it plays but, load times takes forever and the intro inbetween movies and sound skipps or jerks/ jitters. Ingame all seems fine ( some weird audio noises ) what could this be?
    He has a Magic something chip installed ( some nr. 3.whatever. )


     
  2. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had the same type of thing happen with Madden 2005...might be disk quality or burn speed. I used a better quality disk and madden loaded just as quickly as a regular game.
     
  3. fr3ak

    fr3ak Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok cool so I'll try it again with a Verbatim or Dysan and burn like 1x or 2x?
     
  4. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah, i always burn at 2x and that works good.
     
  5. fr3ak

    fr3ak Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What software did you use? Nero Alcohol120?
    First to image or on the fly?
     
  6. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    DVD Decrypter works good using DVD-r
     
  7. Ashman1

    Ashman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try DVD Decryptor. It's free and can be found on this site. It works great and it is free. Make sure you read in ISO Mode and write in ISO Mode. When you burn the image onto your blank media, write at 1x.

    Ritek is an excellent brand of media. I have been using them for a while and have had no problems. Also make sure you don't have any labels attached to your backed-up copy. Labels are bad.
     
  8. fr3ak

    fr3ak Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks I'll try that or I'll just go and buy another copy of Hitman because I'll have to chip my PS2 as well.
     

Share This Page