1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 BACKUP to DVD-R

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by hopedaddy, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. hopedaddy

    hopedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am also a newbie: I am burning a ps2 game with dvddecrypter then burning it to a dvd but my ps2 won't read it. Can someone please help me fill in the blanks of how to make copys of my ps2 games
     
  2. GroveBoy

    GroveBoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You Need to have a ModChip in your PS2 to be able to play backups.
     
  3. hopedaddy

    hopedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Whats the best, and how hard is it to install
     
  4. GroveBoy

    GroveBoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I'm actually looking to get one myself. There are other options besides the chip. Theres a system where you swap out a loader disk I think.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2005
  5. hopedaddy

    hopedaddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have heard of a harddrive you can attach to the old PS2 and play the games off the harddrive. Do you know anything about this?
     
  6. waqas_123

    waqas_123 Guest

    hey i have a mod chip and i also used dvd decrypter and my ps2 also dont read it. i downloaded action replay max and burnt it and i have a Magic 3 DVD 9 mod chip. and do i have to make an image first for it or does dvd decrypter does that for you?
     
  7. babelfish

    babelfish Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have a 'swapmagic' system on my ps2...

    it is basically a boot disk and a replacement top for the ps2 than means you can get the disk out without opening the front drawer

    i also have an old HD in my ps2 - makes playing games like san andreas much faster as boot times are much quicker! but you need some software called HD advance (or the version previous - there is a free version knocking around from ps2ownz.com that i use)

    then just copy disks on the fly in nero - works every time!
     
  8. waqas_123

    waqas_123 Guest

    so what should i do? i cant find any of these things in my country and i dont have that kind of money to buy these equipment. cant i just burn it and get it to work on my ps2 i also have it modded. cant i pirate it somehow?
     
  9. babelfish

    babelfish Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i dunno where you are... the swapmagic set was £30.. so quite cheap...

    chipping is much more expensive and looks really hard to solder unless you are good with a soldering iron...

    you COULD just get the swapmagic disks and then run your ps2 witout a top on... i have done that b4.. then you can run 'backups' (dont call em pirates!)

    it is impossible to run backups on a ps2 without some form of modification... and those cost money - but less than a full price game so you make your cash back in no time!
     

Share This Page