1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Backups on PSTwo

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by StriderZ, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. StriderZ

    StriderZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello. I'm trying to make a backup of Metal Gear Solid 3 for my non-modded PSTwo. I have tried copying the game to the hard-drive and copying it to a DVD. Will those work on a regular PS2? And how do I make the game work on my PStwo?
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    um, you have to mod it.
     
  3. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Quickest fix for you would be SwapMagic discs and some tape.
     
  4. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    *note*
    You need to have a modchip or swapmagic WITH
    slidecard or fliptop to play ps2 backups

    To copy ps2 game

    1. Take the ps2 game put it in the dvd rom or dvd burner, your choice.

    2. open the dvd decryptor program then go to to tool bar and hit MODE>ISO>READ. Then choose the correct dvd drive that the game is in as the "source". Also choose where you want the files to be stored on the pc hdd. THEN CLICK DECRYPT , or the huge graphical picture at the bottom of the program which makes it run. The game is now copying to your HDD. Take the game out when finished (it might take a while).

    3. Go to the same tab in dvd decryptor and choose MODE>ISO>WRITE. This will then let you look for the files you just created in step 2. Select the file that you just created. (There is only 2 files creadted so pick the smaller one, I forget what its called. If it dosen't work pick the other file instead.) Then click WRITE, make sure there is blank DVD or CD in the drive depending on if its a cd or dvd game.

     
  5. StriderZ

    StriderZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Please explain what SwapMagic is and what you mean by tape
     
  6. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    swapmagic go here

    Http://www.swapmagic3.com

    a way to load ps2 backups without opening or
    adding a modchip to the ps2

    Needs swapmagic disks and or slidecard/flip-top
    Check the above site for more details.
     
  7. motoxthor

    motoxthor Guest

    dude, try searching a little bit, theres tons of topics on swap magic, modding, and backking up games. go to the ps2 general discusion and theres a great FAQ.
     
  8. StriderZ

    StriderZ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks a ton guys

    But I still don't get the tape part.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  9. BOUT2BUS

    BOUT2BUS Guest

    Ive been through the same problem, and I was actually going to pay somebody silly money to chip my slimline so I could play my backups. luckily I found this site before I sent it off. No warranty issues, just every thing you need to play your backups, I am chuffed to bits.
    http://www.pop-uk.info
     
  10. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    www.techwizad.com is also a excellent uk based site for swap magic
     
  11. PS2MANIAC

    PS2MANIAC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    why do you need a mod chip ir swap magic there is no other way to burn the games
     
  12. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You need a modchip or SwapMagic because our backups can't boot by themselves. Our burners aren't capable of getting/burning necessary boot information to dvdr's.
     
  13. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    PS2 games are actually pressed DVD/CD discs, they are not burned. PS2 games use the Burst Cutting Area (BCA) of the disc to identify themselves to the PS2 unit. The BCA is not part of a disc that you can burn on, it is only replicated on pressed discs.

    So, the only way to play backups is to get boot-discs or a mod-chip.
     
  14. PS2MANIAC

    PS2MANIAC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so which one is better swapmagic right its cheaper too i hear and less work but do i have to use it everytime i i want to use it on my ps2
     
  15. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes SwapMagic is cheaper, but yes you do need to load SwapMagic everytime that you want to boot a backup game.
     
  16. Nox050

    Nox050 Guest

    Nephilim just flushed me down the virtual toilet :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2005
  17. PS2MANIAC

    PS2MANIAC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks for your help dragula and i have one more ? if i get a modchip for my ps2 do i have to run a boot disk for it everytime i want to run a backup game because if i have to do that it would just be better to go with swap magic so what i am asking do you need a boot disc for a mod chip every time you want to play back up games
     
  18. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    installing a mod-chip,depending on which type,will allow you to boot ps2 backups as if they where originals
     
  19. sleepwalk

    sleepwalk Guest

    I HAVE DVD DECRYPTER AND I COPYED THE GAME TO MY HARD DRIVE AND THEN I WROTE IT TO MY DVD DISK. WHEN I TRYED TO PLAY IT IN MY PSTWO IT TOLD ME TO INSERT A PS OR PS2 DVD IN THE SYSTEM PLEAS HELP

     
  20. sleepwalk

    sleepwalk Guest

    CAN U MAKE THAT FREE
     

Share This Page