1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 black screen of death

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by rageowns, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. rageowns

    rageowns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So I have a v12 PS2 slim, and I recentley got the magic keys II with swap magic 3.6.
    I've haven't had a problem with this PS2 since I got it. But I started using thses products and after about 8 days the games(back-ups) started freezing. I left the system off for a couple of hours and when I tried to play again, boom no sound, no picture, just a black screen.
    The disk still spins and the laser still goes on but nothing else happens. Doesn't matter if I have a game, cd, movie or nothing at all. I had heard of these problems on chipped PS2's, but not on mods like this.
    Please help me. Thanks.
     
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i would check the Magic Key install and make sure everything is still in place and holding down the required sensors.
    Also V12's are known for laser problems so you should really have had a laser fix installed before doing the back up thing.
     
  3. rageowns

    rageowns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have checked the magic keys and even removed them completely and still nothing but a black screen
     
  4. bullseye6

    bullseye6 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just a reminder, with magic keys you don't void your warranty, so if it's still under sonys warranty bring it in i dough they'll know what u used it for.
     
  5. rageowns

    rageowns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well that was the reason I went with the Magic Keys, but when I went back to Gamestop they told me my extended warranty I bought was up last December. So as of now I'm SOL.
     
  6. rageowns

    rageowns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Are there similar problems with new generation ps2's aswell? I'm thinking about just buying a new one, but i don't want to run into the same problems again.
     
  7. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    V12 is the only one i know that had real problems. I had heard that the old V9 or V10 had them as well. But the newer slimline models after V12 should be fine.

    Want my opinion? Well i guess you'll get it anyway, LOL
    Save your money up and buy a premodded used V7 from Teammodders.com and you will be happy. Get a good chip like a Crystal Chip V2.0 or Matrix Infinity Green Dot and throw Swap Magic and those magic keys in the trash where they belong.
    Also with the V7 (older models) it is widely considered to be the best model that Sony ever made. It has a good laser, i have had one since they firts came out and it still runs (although now it just collects dust). And the older models you can add a hard drive to, all you need is a compatible hard drive and the network adapter.(the software to run it you can get free)
    A DMS4 Pro SE chip is said to be a little less stable then the two i mentioned but it has built in support to run a hard drive. What i mean by less stable is about 1 in 10 chips could have problems as opposed to the Matrix which goes about 1 in 50. I have 2 DMS4 Pro chips and have not had any problems.

    A hard drive will extend your laser life because you load and play games from that rather than a disc, it will also give faster load times then a disc. And about 95% of the games i have tried will work.
     
  8. rageowns

    rageowns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks, all the info is great and very much appreciated.

    The only thing that ever really stopped me from modding my ps2 has been voiding my warranty. This ps2 is my third one, and the only one I haven't been able to replace with a warranty.
    I've had bad luck so far. My first ps2 stopped reading disks, the second fell on the floor after some one tripped over one of the controlers, and now #3 has this problem. I'm doomed.

    Thanks again for all your help.
     
  9. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The other option, which I would use if Ever my current DMS4 Pro PS2 broke, would be to install a HDD, and use HDD advance, and use a PC to load back-up to the HDD.

    HDD's are so cheep now, and it a joy to just load the games of the HDD.
     
  10. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    you don'y need HD Advanced with a DMS4 Pro, the software to run the hard drive is built into ToxicOS V0.41
    so as long as you have that your set.
     
  11. DBM_Bones

    DBM_Bones Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I know as I said, this is for a option for ppl who don't have a mod chip. and what I whould do if mine broke, I would not bother modding as it so hit and miss. plus HD advance is cheeper.
     

Share This Page