1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Boot Disc to play PS1 Games?

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by AmazinTed, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. AmazinTed

    AmazinTed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm trying to burn imbnes to my modded PS2. My PS2 doesn't read any games in PS1 format though. I read it's possible to load a PS1 cd on a PS2 with some type of boot disc. Can anyone clue me in here and give me a link or something so I can play PS1 games?

    Thanks.
     
  2. PS_GaMeR

    PS_GaMeR Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, you should use a Breaker Pro disc.
     
  3. janrocks

    janrocks Guest

  4. NINVIN21

    NINVIN21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Swap magic is only for PS2 games.
    it will not work.
     
  5. jin666

    jin666 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    True, the PS2 Swap magic cd will not load a PS1 backup. You could try a gameshark, i hear they work.

    Jin666
     
  6. NINVIN21

    NINVIN21 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Newer gamesharks don't work
    You need Gameshark Lite
    or Breaker Pro
    or Gameshark 2 v2 for PS1
    or Action Replay disc for PS1.

    There's probally more but I don't no about them.

    I have gameshark lite
    and Gameshark 2 v2 for PS1.
    (Get them from Ebay est. $5)

    I don't have the newest PS2 I have 70012.
    My friend has the newest PS2 and Gameshark lite don't work!
    (I Don't no about the other one's)
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2007
  7. LordNalo

    LordNalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    o0o0o... ok so i read all your comments.. and like.. im new to the world of.. play that copied game =/... i managed to copie a game and im sure it works =) just not for me >=/

    its a ps1 game.. and i dont have any discs or swap slidey things.. or mod chips.. so its kinda messed up.. all i have it a wats it.. action replay max for ps2 and a old xploder disc for ps1..

    is there any advice.. you guys can giv me on how to get this thing to work.. without haveing one of those slidey things.. somone said burn it with cdrwin and it will bypass security measures.. but yeh i duno does that work? =)
     
  8. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes you would need a slidy thing or a fliptop on your Fat PS2 to play PS1 games.
    How to perform the swop trick using the Action Replay 2 cheat cartridge (only for PSX/PS1 backups) works on UK/US PS2.

    Remove the front of the disk drive tray (above) insert your action replay 2 into one of the memory card slots, turn on your PS2 and insert disk 2 of the disks that come with the AR2. Flick through the boot screens and select any cheats you may want etc. When you get to the screen that prompts you to open your PS2 and insert your games disk. DO NOT press the eject button, instead, use the 'cog' method (above) to open the drive. Once you have got the disk out, swap disks for a PS1/PSX backup. Firmly push the tray all the way in and close the tray, making sure you turn the cog or move the white pin, until the disk is locked in. At no point upto now should you have touched the eject or power button.
    Now you may change the AR2 for your PS1/PSX memory card, if you wish.
    Hit the 'X' button and play!!
    Takes about 30 seconds to do, so although it might be a bit of grief doing it for every game, it might save your guarantee.

    How to remove front cover:
    http://www.ps2cover.com/slidehelp.html
    You can make your own slide card by using a piece of hard plastic like a credit card or something similar.
    Template

    Or watch videos on youtube on how to play PS1 games on your PS2.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYLwlgWLn2s
     
  9. Rdysn5

    Rdysn5 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What's the method for playing backup ps1 games on a slim ps2?
     
  10. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
  11. LordNalo

    LordNalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    =O!!..... you guys friggin rule =)
     
  12. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Swap magic is only for PS2 games,RUBBISH
    Use swap magic it should have two discs one for booting PS2 games and one for booting PS1 games
     
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    And you have successfully played PS1 games with Swap Magic then.
    Their main site had stated this, but it does not work that I know of.
    I have tried with SM 3.8 and it does not work.
     
  14. LordNalo

    LordNalo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i attempted the above.. i tell you wat.. it would be good if you could playem and you prolly can in some way.. maybe even the way the dude told me in the above wats it... thing.. guiDE =) but yeh.. man forget that it takes to much effort.. jus play em on your pc =)
     
  15. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    Yes ive played a few Copied ps1 games

    http://www.swapmagic3.com


    This is what it states under What games support Swap Magic 3?

    Swap Magic 3 support almost all SEGA ROMS, SNES ROMS, PS1 & PS2 Games!!


    You must not be doing it properly,are you using the cd to boot ps1 games
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2007
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I already stated the main site said that. Funny the majority of people on Afterdawn have tried it also, and didn't work for them either, that is why there are a few alternative methods posted here to play PS1 games or just use Breaker Pro.
    All I can say is good for you it works then. What games have you successfully played with Swap Magic and what version Swap Magic do you have. What model PS2 do you have.
     
  17. marcusita

    marcusita Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    My ps2 was about 5 years old before it died and it was the an early version of Swap Magic.
    All im saying is use the CD provided and not the DVD.
    Try games like resident evil 1-3 mortal combat 3,i could go on but there is no point.
    Plus i could use resident evil 2 to boot copied games via the cog swap method.
     
  18. hackaveli

    hackaveli Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    in order to boot psx backups on ps2 slimline w/o mod/boot disk u must block sensors and then pop in a original psx game in ure ps2s browser. once it has black cd thing swap for ure backup.
     
  19. FaTaLiuS

    FaTaLiuS Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use Codebreaker PSX for backups but it doesnt play redbook audio how do i fix this?
     

Share This Page