1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 broken, no power

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by lilpaki, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. lilpaki

    lilpaki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    basically i have a ps2 that doesnt seem to be getting any power. i plug in the wire and flick the switch on the back, but there is no red light.

    i opened it up and didnt find anything too suspicious. i have a working ps2 that i also took out and i swapped the fuse around but the broken one stays broken. im considering swapping that pcs with the main power stuff on it but not sure as the 2 look differnt.

    anyone got any other ideas? shud i try switchin these power boards
     
  2. cub57

    cub57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Be careful, if the power supply is charging up but not running the main board, when you strip it down the electrolytic capacitors maybe still charged - leave it several minutes before touching it.

    Do you have a test meter for check resistance/ continuity?
    Look on the main board for components marked as ps1 etc, these are surface mount fuses and could have blown.

     
  3. lilpaki

    lilpaki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well i can access the main main board yet as there 1 screw that being difficult and need to wait till i can find a small screwdriver. the power board looks ok, doesnt seem to have any blown fuses etc. how do i check to see it power making it al the way through? im not sure how to use a multimeter so can ya walk me thru?

    thanks
     
  4. cub57

    cub57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I can't remember which pins from the psu carry the supply nor what the voltages were, it's about 3- 4 years since now that I last had to work on one.

    Seem to remember 3.3 volts dc , 5 volts dc and about 7 volts DC.

    With a multimeter, set it to ohms reading or even diode test will work, on both of these you'll be looking for a value the same as if you just put the leads together.
    Your meter may have a 'bleep' continuity test as well but it may bleep even with blown fuse if resistance is low enough.

    The fuses are pretty expensive if buying only a few,

    On the screws front, seem to remember there being about 9 tiny cross head screws but two of them being different to the rest, check you put them back in the right places.

    Roughly where in the world are you?
     
  5. lilpaki

    lilpaki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    london

    you know any guides that can maybe help me?
     
  6. cub57

    cub57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't know of any in particular that you can get hold of now, I used them years ago when modchips were advertised everywhere, I used to work for the company which produced the Blaze range of products like the Xplorer/Xploder cheat systems
     
  7. lilpaki

    lilpaki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok well i manahed the free the mainbaord. doent look really pretty, quite dirty. anything i shud be lookin for?
     
  8. cub57

    cub57 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The fuses used to be labelled on the pcb as PS 1 etc, and will have markingson them, there were various values, the maxking websites used to have a good guide as to their values
     

Share This Page