1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 burning specifics

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by crumb, Feb 26, 2005.

1. crumb

crumb Member

Sorry I'm new to this...

It seems simple enough to burn the image. I've burned PS1 games dozens of times, and CDs/DVDs in general for many years.

My questions are about burning specifics. When I burned PS1 games, I had to make sure it was done in Mode 2 so it's recognized properly. Mode 1 was just for CD-ROM data, so that was that. Do I have to do something similar with PS2 games, selecting a specific burn "mode" when doing so?

Next question: Some sites recommend I burn as slow as possible. I used to burn all my PS1 games a 1x, but when my old burner died, I had to burn with my newer 48x CD-RW drive, and the slowest it could do was like 8x, sometimes 12x, depending on the disc brand. I didn't experience any problems playing them at this faster speed, even though my brother (on his old PSone) said that if you burn too fast, FMVs will skip, and he said he saw this happen, even though no one I know experiences this. So what speed should I burn PS2 games at?

Also, I read that brand matters. I use Memorex 8x DVD-R discs, which I know to be a good brand. I should be fine with this, right? Some sites say the "cheap brands" will weaken the laser.

Thanks!

2. crumb

crumb Member

um... anyone??

3. Gamer66

Gamer66 Member

Hi bud, just use DVD decrypter in iso mode to rip the dvd discs and to write them it will do all the rest for you. I find its not the make of disk that makes the dif its just the dye on them thay need to be nice and dark and dvd -r is the only type of disk i can get to work right. i hope this help...

4. mingster

mingster Member

You generally get what you pay for and the slower the writing the better. Also, the slowest writing speed of your writer can change depending on the writing speed of the media.