1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Games freezing (large TOC size)

Discussion in 'PS2' started by kurtsky, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. kurtsky

    kurtsky Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi
    Im just wondering.
    I borrowed this game (Chaos Legion)form a friend
    and backed it up.
    First I Used Alcohol 120 to make it a MDF/MDS file
    and then burned it using Alcohol too.
    Played fine/loaded fine till the second part of The Prologue level)
    It just freezes. And during the first level it lags occasionally
    I had freezes with some games I backed up recently (Bully)
    Could it be my laser thats dead or what? I admit my PS2 is old (2003).

    Although I cant remember what modchip I had installed on it.
    Im hoping its just bad media but tried to burn it twice to no avail.
    I Used Sony & Philipps Media at 4x and 2x respectively.
    Could it be my PS2 couldnt handle PS2 games with big TOC?
    Cause Chaos Legion is 4.37Gb and Bully is 4.37Gb (estimate)
     
  2. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey, I also backed up this game, but I didn't play it that far to see it freeze.

    How far into the game to reach this freeze state? I could play my copy and see if it freezes or not.

    Best bet is the media might be messed up, or other external factors.

    Like one time, I burned a game while I had my antivirus and torrents on in the background, and I think that messed up my game because it was skippy and then 2nd time around it refused to boot.

    I did reburn but with a different dvd-r disc, and it works fine. I made sure to turn off all other background programs.
     
  3. kurtsky

    kurtsky Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I rebuilt Chaos Legion using Expert and some other methods but iut failed to boot.
    Oh well. I used 3 different media already dunno what to do
     
  4. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This game does work from what I played of it so far.

    Burn with dvd decrypter.
    Burn with nero or something related program.

    It's not a dvd9, so it should not fail on you.
     
  5. kurtsky

    kurtsky Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Tried what you said and hangs on the prologue
     
  6. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey guys, I just played Chaos Legion last night and this morning, and I can confirmed I can play past the prologe. In fact, I am in stage 4 at the moment.

    Obviously, the game works. I did not do any special rebuild or anything.

    What I did was use a maxell dvd-r, burn the game to iso using dvd decrypter, then burnt the game at 4x using Nero.

    Why would it freeze? Perhaps bad burn, perhaps bad media, or something else. The game works, maybe your source disc had a scratch or something, I can't explain.
     

Share This Page