1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Games

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by esteban28, Apr 15, 2005.

1. esteban28

esteban28 Member

Ok guys, I am new to PS2 backups. I have mastered Movie backups but now my kid wants me to make some backups because his PS2 games are getting scratched. Can someone tell me step by step on how to copy a PS2 Game with Alcohol_120? I tried burning *.iso or *.mds images with Alcohol or Decryptor on DVD +R. I have top of the line burner (LG 16x Super Multi DVD/CD Rewriter -Dual Layer). I need step by step process on how to burn a PS2 Game onto either a DVD -R or +R. Assuming that all games are DVD format. Please help me or email me at NoPostingEmails@afterdawn.com.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2005
  2. Jizmak

Jizmak Regular member

Ps2 games are actually pressed DVD/CD discs, they are not burned. Original games use the Burst Cutting Area (BCA) of the disc to identify themselves to the PS2 unit. The BCA is not part of a disc that you can burn on, it is only replicated on pressed discs.

So, the only way to play backups is to get boot-discs or a mod-chip.

DVD Decrypter is the program

Use Quality Media I use
    Verbatim dvd+r

***** BURN AT NO MORE THAN 2X****** <-----------(IMPORTANT)
    TURN OFF ANY BACKGROUND APPLICATIONS

1. Take the ps2 game put it in the dvd rom or dvd burner, your choice.

2. open the dvd decryptor program then go to to tool bar and hit MODE>ISO>READ. Then choose the correct dvd drive that the game is in as the "source". Also choose where you want the files to be stored on the pc hdd. THEN CLICK DECRYPT , or the huge graphical picture at the bottom of the program which makes it run. The game is now copying to your HDD. Take the game out when finished (it might take a while).