1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Genius Required!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by ChrisT, Jun 19, 2004.

  1. ChrisT

    ChrisT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi All!

    I recently bought a flip-top cover and Swap Magic discs. I have a version 4,5,6, or 7 PS2 (I don't know but it has 8 screws at the bottom!) The discs I have are Swap Magic 3.0 (CD version Europe build) and Swap Magic (DVD version 2.0 EUR build).

    The reason for me buying the flip-top and discs was because I have just returned from China with a number of games and DVD's that can't play because of the different region.

    However I can't for the life of me get it to work!!

    If I load the Swap Magic 3.0 (CD version Europe build), I will come to a screen with 'Load Program' and 'Video Mode : Normal'. I will then swap discs with my Chinese PS2 game (using the flip-top lid) and select Load Program. The screen will then change to a sort of 'outer-space shot (red stars, black background), and a blue and red striped border. But nothing else will happen!

    If I load the Swap Magic (DVD version 2.0 EUR build), I will come to a screen with 'Insert Disc' and a 'shooting stars' background. I insert a disc with the flip-top lid and nothing happens until I press a button on my game pad. Then the screen stops (the stars stop shooting!) And later a pink border appears at the top and bottom of the screen. But nothing else will happen!

    I'm at a loss about what else to do! Have I got the wrong Swap Magic discs? Am I doing something wrong? Are the discs from China faulty?

    So if there is anyone out there who can help me it would be much appreciated!!

    Regards, Chris.
     
  2. x-ffa

    x-ffa Guest

    thats why id never buy a game from another region
     
  3. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    to play your DVD's not games you would need DVD region X. but i'm think you can use a DVD loader to play games from different regions but im not sure
     
  4. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    sorry forgot to metion you would have to back-up the game first.
     
  5. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok maybe this may help if your import ps2 games are dvd based then you need to use swapmagic dvd to boot them,if they are cd based then you need to use swapmagic cd to load them
    If your swap magic disc load then there's a good chance that they work fine
    Swapmagic wont load movies its designed for games only if you want to load diferent region movies either use dvd region x as conny suggested or rip and backup your movies and remove the regional encoding
    also if you want to find out exactly what version ps2 you have use the link in my sig below
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]cd loader for the v7+ ps2 http://www.geocities.com/jayteemaster2003/
    cd loader for v1-6 ps2 http://www.tidusx.cjb.net/
    using swapmagic got problem game check out http://www.swapmagicfix.com/
    http://www.modchip.com/ps2/ps2id.htm idetify your ps2 version[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2004
  6. DEXxYBOY

    DEXxYBOY Guest

    swap magic discs are for playing backups not imports the swap magic works because it contains info that cannot be copied when u backup a ps2 game, 1,boot sector,(this tells your ps2 that it is an original ps2 disc) 2,region code (tells ps2 it`s from correct region ie. europe).this cannot be copied from originals as it`s encoded as bad sectors and cannot be read. your imports have a different region code so it conflicts with swap magic.back them up and they should work
     
  7. ChrisT

    ChrisT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for everybodies help and pardon my ignorance! But how do I make a backup of the games? Do I download something, or do I need to buy something? And what type of CD do I use to make the backup on?

    As you can tell, I am not very computer literate so basic step by step instructions would be much appreciated! Thanks again for all your help!
     
  8. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    chris t have a look at this thread it shows how to backup games with various software http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/15105

    [bold]dexxyboy[/bold] please do some reaserch into swapmagic before you tell people that it cant boot imports it is much more usefull if when you post somthing you have the correct information as swapmagic [bold]will boot import games[/bold] have a look here and try reading before you post next time http://www.swapmagic3.com/default.htm
     
  9. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    devilhunt, does the import have to be backed up or will SMD play original imports?
     
  10. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    connie you can boot orignal imports with swapmagic i use it to boot some ntsc usa games i own on my pal v7 ps2 and several jap ddr games that are not avalible in the uk,it also boots the backups of those games aswell
     
  11. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    nice one thanks for the info
     

Share This Page