1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 & getting HDD working

Discussion in 'PS2' started by audogstar, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. audogstar

    audogstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi All

    I have got a Fat PS2 with Network adapter & HDD from a guy and he said it was all working previously to run his backups from the hdd.

    He has no software to use the hdd any more , so I'm on the hunt for the best / most compatible to backup my games to save / extend the laser life..

    Ideally , I dont want to use the dvd drive unless its to backup a new game etc.

    IF i read posts correctly, its possible to run some software directly from a MC ??

    Can anyone give feedback on what I should be doing etc so I can get this setup correctly while i have a day or 2 away from work.

    Ask questions & I will try to answer asap..


    thanks

    EDIT: forgot to mention, this console is supposed to be chipped..
    It starts to play a backup disk , so I assume its working.
    Can i confirm this is chipped / the type of chip without opening the case up ??
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  2. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    go here and take a look around
     
  3. audogstar

    audogstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Been reading here http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/noobie.php

    tried booting with uLaunch to boot PS2, then noobie package from USB, to load to MC.

    I dont get the scrolling / boot menu that I should , even after trying normal & multi instals. making sure to format MC as well.
     
  4. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ulaunch and the noobie package are supposed to be used in conjunction with a "boot disc" a retail disc such as codebreaker,swapmagic or gameshark to boot the install freemcboot elf. if you dont have a boot disc you need to get one from a friend or buy one at a second hand store. once you have one select directions for that method in the dropdown menu and follow the step by step directions. if you cant follow the directions you can try to find someone to install mcboot to a memory card for you and send it through the mail
     
  5. audogstar

    audogstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK.

    I thought that due to the console being chipped , that I didnt need the other disks..

    (sorry if i didnt mention the chip before)
     
  6. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    uh no you still need the disk or whatever but since your ps2 is chipped you should be able to use a burned copy of one of the boot methods at least I think thats how it is.
     
  7. audogstar

    audogstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK

    thanks

    I will have to search for a copy then & see if it works.

    I misread.. I thought when you installed the freemcboot, it loaded the programes to the MC & so you didnt need to use the dom drive at all.

    then use OPL to run games from the HDD...
     
  8. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you only need the disk once to boot the installation after freemcboot is installed to the memory card you dont need any disks at all.
     
  9. audogstar

    audogstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any thoughts on where to find a copy / iso ??
     
  10. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    tell me if those work
     
  11. audogstar

    audogstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thanks.

    will get onto it when i get home from work next..
     
  12. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey guys, sorry for jumping in on your thread, but one question if I may.... My son hasn't really bothered with his Ps2 (fat) since I got him the Wii and of course I modded it and run back-ups from hdd. Now the Ps2 is just sitting there doing nothing, my question is, is it worth while modding it as it's kinda old now & are the bits & pieces pricey to do this ( sorry thats two lol).
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011
  13. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    actually the only thing pricey about modding it is the install if you can find someone to put the chip in then your golden. the chips themselves are pretty cheap you can get them for around 15-30 dollars google ps2 modchip for a place to buy them i bought mine from foundmy.com.
     
  14. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cheer's for the reply Kannz, had a look at that site, there are a few to choose from, could you spoon feed me m8 lol. If I know which chip and if it doesn't need soldering, I'll have a crack at it myself. Should I be looking for a serial no. on my fat Ps2 or something to match the
    chip ??
     
  15. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah some chips work with specific versions such as scph-39001 check on the back it should have a model number like it. also the only real solderless modchip for the ps2 the dms4 solderless is known to "burn legs" killing the ps2 its recommended that you go for a solder version. I recommend Duo3Ultra modbo 4 or a matrix infinity if you can find a good one. Theres another place i personally haven't bought anything from but looks okay is mod-chip.com. but if you really dont want to solder just put freemcboot on a memory card and boot ps2 games with esr and Open ps2 loader off the harddrive.
     
  16. lukeian5

    lukeian5 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Freemcboot thingy sounds like a plan, I'll have to look into what I need for it, thanks for the advice m8. I see all the info that I need is above, is that right.

    I'm sure I bought my minimus board for the ps3 from them..... no hassles at all.
     

Share This Page