1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 hdd

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by aXidburn, Dec 18, 2004.

  1. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    i have a v10 ps2 with a magic v5k6 or a messiah 2 i think the magic tho. anyway i want to be able to play online without ruining my disks by them getting scratched and stuff. so i was thinking about getting a hdd and i have a few questions about it. first if i wanan install a 3rd party hdd like a maxtor 80 gig, and then get a online adaptor, can i load the orignal game on the hdd and go online with it? because i heard that u can only go online with a offical ps2 hdd....


    also if i dont get a hdd and i patch the backuped games by using the dnas how do i do that, and like whats this stuff about getting ur ps2 banned
     
  2. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You cannot go online while using HD Loader or Advance. These programs patch the PS2 BIOS so that it loads from the HDD instead of the CD-ROM device and if you go online with a patched BIOS you will get a DNAS error.
     
  3. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    so even if u have the real ps2 hdd you cant go online.....

    and what about patching real games and not using a hdd at all
     
  4. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You can play original games and patched backup games online with any HDD installed so long as you boot the PS2 with the game disc and not HD Advance/Loader. In other words, you just can't play online games online from the HDD.
     
  5. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    ok if i dont get the hdd , i can patch my ps2 backedup games and play online with, will my modchip get detected?

    and what exactly happens if someone else and you are using the same dnas at the same time?
     
  6. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes, your modchip will be detected. Also note that if your DNAS ID is also being used by someone else at the same time you run a high risk of being banned. This should not be a problem if you are making legitament backups of online enabled games you have purchased since it would be highly unlikely that someone else could have gotten your DNAS ID.
     
  7. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    doesnt the modchip sleep after booting the game?...and also when u patch the backup game doesnt it make it so that ur modchip wont be detected..

    also what do u exactly mean by banned, like kicked of thats online game forever or like 3 hours?
     
  8. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Patching your backup does not change the detection of the modchip. All patching does is provide your backup copy with a DNAS ID which is not copied when making a copy of the original disc. Many modchips do eventually go into a sleep mode after about 5 minutes or so. As far as being banned I mean banned as in not being to play online from your particular PS2 permanentally.
     
  9. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    being banned and have ur ps2 banned permanentally is just for that game right...like if i switched game then i would be able to get online that game right?



    and also i was reading somewhere that it said lets say u buy madden 05 and nba2k5. that u can use the dnas from madden for nba 2k5 or anyother game, as long as it is a valid dnas code, is that true?
     
  10. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Probably not, my understanding is that they ban your PS2's machine ID. It has been discovered that DNAS ID's appear to be interchangable from one game to another so long as the ID is from a region that matches your backup game you wish to use it on.
     
  11. redog76us

    redog76us Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    question for you guys if i have a sony hdd that domes with final fantasy willl does it come with a cd loader if so ca i put more games in the hard drive and run it just like final fantasy
    is that possible
     
  12. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    so long as the ID is from a region that matches your backup game you wish to use it on.

    what do u mean " ur id is from a region that matches ur backu game"?
     
  13. superstui

    superstui Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do you guys know how to put a dual disk game on the hard drive? I know the game is compatible with Hd Loader and the Hard Drive.
     

Share This Page