1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Mod

Discussion in 'PS2' started by nd595, Apr 22, 2003.

  1. nd595

    nd595 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok i read the faq and it said that old ps2 can't play dvd-r's but in another post in dvd-r newbie a person told me i could bye a new lid or something to modify it so that it would play dvd-rs. Is this true and if so could someone let me know how to do the modification or give me a link. Thanks
     
  2. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    why would a new lid matter? it's the laser that has the issue with the discs, not the lid. what version PS2 do you have?
     
  3. Witt

    Witt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  4. nd595

    nd595 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    here is what he said in the post.
    Flip Top PS2 Cover - £30 roughly I think.
    A screwdriver , a piece of tape (to keep the ribbon out of the way) and your all done.
    As far as I believe...

    PS2 Forum will tell you more.
    There are only 2 differnet flip top lids as far as I'm aware.

    1 for versions 1-4 & the other is for versions 4-7
    ...and yes , so it will play DVD-R (be it DVD Video or PS2 Game)

    I have an early version i'm not sure on the model number. Is it on the back somewhere?
     
  5. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    All PS2's will read "-", only newer ones read "+"
     
  6. AftarDawn

    AftarDawn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey DEX..

    will ver 5 read dvd+rw?? any idea?
     
  7. nd595

    nd595 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So if mine wasn't reading it before it was probibly the media i was using?
     
  8. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    more than likely, yes it was the media, but you wont know for sure until you try other types - also, above you stated that they have flip tops for version 1-4 and 4-7. just to clear it for the n00bs, it's 1-3 and 4-7.
     
  9. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Afterdawn

    From what I have read it should read "+" media but for "+RW" give it a try.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2003
  10. AftarDawn

    AftarDawn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cool..i will, ill try wolverines revenge.
     
  11. glassman

    glassman Guest

    I have a v5 and am in process of installing a dms3. Before I put the chip in I tried a movie burned on dvd+rw and it worked fine. As soon as I get the chip in I will test it w/ps2 backup.
     

Share This Page