1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ps2 online play with backups

Discussion in 'PS2' started by dv8r, May 22, 2004.

  1. dv8r

    dv8r Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was wondering what i have to do to play online copied ps2 games and if i have a backup will they find out and will i be prosecuted?
     
  2. stunn611

    stunn611 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    in order to play backups online u will need to patch your backups. to do that go here http://www.ps2nfo.com/ps2nfo.html also if sony find out you're usin a backup they will just ban u but if u patched your backups they won't know ur usin a backup.
     
  3. dv8r

    dv8r Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sweet, thanks alot man
     
  4. WEStar

    WEStar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    "...if sony find out you're usin a backup they will just ban u but if u patched your backups they won't know ur usin a backup."

    hmmm, you can't get online with DNAS games without patching them so how other way would sony know you're using a backup if you don't go online? dv8r, as long as you actually have the game and patch with the dnas id from it you should be ok but, there's been people that said they've gotten banned because they were using backups but, it is possible that they were using public DNAS IDs (IDs that are posted on forums).
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2004
  5. stunn611

    stunn611 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    "....hmmm, you can't get online with DNAS games without patching them so how other way would sony know you're using a backup if you don't go online?"

    well simple, everytime u go online sony will do a DNAS check and if ur usin a backup without the DNAS patched, sony will kno that ur usin a backup.
     
  6. dv8r

    dv8r Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmm, so if i get caught they ban me from going online. How do they ban me exactly? IP addy? or the ps2 serial number?
     
  7. WEStar

    WEStar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I think they ban the mac address of your network adapter.
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    They don't ban the mac address, they ban the machine id of your ps2.
     
  9. dv8r

    dv8r Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    machine id, thats the number on the back of the ps2 that i entered to register right? so if i had another one i could just make a new account, right? (sorry just making sure)
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2004
  10. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    no, if you get banned, you are screwed and cant do anything about it.
     
  11. dv8r

    dv8r Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ah crap - thanks
     
  12. lil_g_90

    lil_g_90 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi...i tried patching 2 of my games(nba live 2004,syphon filter omega strain)with the disk ids that i got from the originals,then once i try to go online i get a dnas error -402.I am using magic 3.2....i am sure i am patching the games correctly because i followed all the instructions on ps2nfo.com.....can someone plz tell me wat the problem is and how to fix it???
     

Share This Page