1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 or computer problem?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by ghlover, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. ghlover

    ghlover Guest

    I used the Idiot Proof Guide to making custom songs for Guitar hero 2 (since it didn't work, apparently I am an idiot). When I burn the DVD, I use the trial version of Alcohol 120% to burn the .iso file to the DVD+R (Verbatim) 16X. I burn the DVD at about 2.somethingX. Next, I put Swap Magic 3.6 DVD-ROM into my PS2. Whenever the load program screen comes up, I open up the top of my console, open the CD covering and swap the disk with my burned copy. I put the covering back on and replace the top. When I click load program (use X ~ boot normally) a few moments pass then my screen say: "Not a valid PS2 disk". Any suggestions?

    Thanks in Advance
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Try burning at 8x, many people recommend burning at half the rated speed of the discs.
     
  3. prosseda

    prosseda Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes I appear to be having the same problem, and i know it's not the burn speed of the disc because i've done it at 4x 2x and 1x. I also know it's nothing with the computer because i've tried using a ps2 disc after using both the cd and the dvd version of swap magic 3.8 coder, but i get the ps2 screen "please insert a valid ps2 disc"

    Help?
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    what brand discs are you using prosseda?
     
  5. prosseda

    prosseda Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i KNOW thats not the problem because i've tried using a regular ps2 game and i still get the same resuluts, except the ps2 recognises the game. I tried verbatim dvd+r and memorex dvd+rw and the same "pink screen of death"
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    prosseda, are you trying to boot a burnt copy of Guitar hero 2 with custom songs (you said you tried an original disc, so it leads me to believe you are not)? If not, start a new thread.
     
  7. prosseda

    prosseda Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes i am trying to burn ghero 2 with custom songs. I have tried using the retail version ghero with swap magic but it still didn't work.
     
  8. dwaynep

    dwaynep Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    memorex isnt a good choice for burning games 2
     
  9. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    First, Guitar Hero 2 might be one of those games that wouldn't work properly with older swap magics. You might need to use CDLoader or ZoneLoader. Also, get Sony DVD-Rs or Verbatim DVD-Rs they might work.
     
  10. prosseda

    prosseda Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok so I plan to try zoneloader with swap magic 3.8, but would the fact that i have a v15 ps2 have anything to do with swap magic not working? I'm afraid if that's the problem, i'd have to rethink my whole strategy
     
  11. OmriSama

    OmriSama Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No it's

    Swap Magic 3.6 -> CDLoader/ZoneLoader -> Guitar Hero 2
     
  12. prosseda

    prosseda Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so sm 3.8 won't work?
     

Share This Page