1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 plays dvd's but not cd's need help figureing out what to replace.

Discussion in 'PS2' started by mucktar, May 10, 2008.

1. mucktar

mucktar Member

i have a v7 ps2 and i have a problem with loading cd's i can play all my ps2 games flawlessly because they are on dvd. but i want to play the translated tales of phantasia and that is a psone game. now when i put the cd in the drive it revs up and makes a loud grinding and clicking noise. i dont get this with ps2 games or dvd's. it on a rare occasion will boot cd games and psone games. i know it is not my mod chip because i am a pro at soldering and it is a flawless install and i have had this problem before i put the chip in. the other thing that bothers me is one cd always loads flawlessly also and that is my action replay for ps2. the ar has no grinding noise but other ps2 cd games do. no the main question is should i replace the laser witch will run me about $45-60 or should i get a new motor drive for thingy that spins the cd/dvd $15-20. i think i should get the motor because i don't think its the laser making the noise.

Last edited: May 10, 2008
  2. drklrd1

drklrd1 Member

Not reading cd's but will read DVD's, usually a laser problem.
    But you mention a grinding noise, try cleaning your PS2

3. mucktar

mucktar Member

that is what i normally do( this is my like 9th ps2 i mod them fix them up and sell them).i did my normal posses. normally i first adjust the distance of the laser then clean it with alcohol then if that dost work i adjust the laser intensity on the bottom of the laser unit. i tried this all and nothing happens. but what gets me is the noise dost happen if it is a ps2 cd like ar. do psone grams spin differently. and if i need to replace the laser does anyone know a cheap place to get one. the cheapest i have seen is like $45 usd on psxbox.net.

4. t0nito

t0nito Member