1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 random freezing

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by penguin77, Sep 1, 2004.

  1. penguin77

    penguin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey everyone i just wanted to know if anyone else here has random freezes an di mean RANDOM like at any time it would freeze at loading or when going to a new screen particulary in final fantasy games and kingdom hearts games it would freeze a lot and its annoying or like midnight club 2 it would freeze sometimes when going online

    is it cause i have a old ps2??? 39001 magic 3.1

    is there a fix for this also the dvds i use to burn the games have no brand which u get 50 for $25 canadian i think

    whats the best media? the dvds i have are these ones i think

    http://www.factorydirect.ca/cgi-bin/product_spec.pl/DV4740

    which one should i get i bought 10 maxell ones for $25!

    * it just froze with this media to lol

    is it just the cheap media? because some of my other games dont freeze (nba street 2, smackdown)
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    cheap media is usually the cause of most problems. i recommend ritek (maxell is supposed to be the best though). Have you tried cleaning your ps2 laser?
     
  3. penguin77

    penguin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah im using super cheap media lol

    i also had maxell and it froze once but i restarted and it didnt freeze but it would probably freeze again...


    so i have a dvd cleaner would that work in my ps2? and maybe fix it?

    cause my kingdoms hearts game freezes like at every screen which is pissing me off
     
  4. penguin77

    penguin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    has anyone else had problems like this?
     
  5. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sounds like you may have a magic 3 and not magic 3.1, these are the problems that the magic 3 had as i had it and it did freeze alot.

    Try cleaning your laser and use branded media.
     
  6. penguin77

    penguin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    update!

    i use my dvd cleaner and popped in kingdom hearts and it hasnt froze in like an hour so i guess the laser was dirty or something
     
  7. penguin77

    penguin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    its freezing again!!!! anyone no why
     
  8. hardstyle

    hardstyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yo man I have the same problem. I also have a magic 3 or 3.1 I don't know. I have the final fantasy x game and it freezes much when it skips to a new loading part. It's really irritating. But this isn't the laser I think. Because when I put my magic into sleep mode it Never freezes. On the same game original version. When i play original version of game without setting modchip into sleep mode it does freeze just as much as playing a backup. So Im think also the media does'nt have something to do with it.

    It's just the chip I think. Maybe we can upgrade our chips or something.
     
  9. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It is probably a clone magic 3 because they had alot of crashing. You should probably just buy a new real magic 3/3.1 and just change the chip over.
     
  10. hardstyle

    hardstyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your sure about that?? So maybe if I open up my ps2 I will see this clone inside??
     
  11. naz2k4

    naz2k4 Guest

    Ok, i burnt Driv3r to a dvd and i sometimes get random freezes but at the time of burning the game i left a few programs open on my pc like MSN which can affect the burning procedure. My reccomendation is when you are burning your games, burn at the lowest speed and close all runing programs.
     
  12. hardstyle

    hardstyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My burnout 3 has frozen one time on Harddisk!!! I don't understand why. I can understand games that i play on normal way freezes some times. But how it's possible that they also freeze on harddisk??? Anyone knows???
     
  13. nelswick

    nelswick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    maybe the original you copied off of was scratched.
     
  14. penguin77

    penguin77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    whats hard style said same thing when i put a real game it doesnt freeze at all

    and what is a clone modchip? i had someone else install it for $150

    and the games that freeze were either downloaded or from blockbuster
     

Share This Page