1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ps2 Slim won't turn on

Discussion in 'PS2' started by egnveirbi, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. egnveirbi

    egnveirbi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I plug it in and the red light turns on. When i hit the power button, the green light turns on, but then immediately turns back to red. The disk doesn't move at all and nothing boots up. Whats wrong ?

    Could one of these be it ?

    *) Bad power supply. There should be 8.5 Volts DC coming out of the supply. Use a voltmeter or 12V lamp to test it (as explained in THIS SEGMENT).
    *) The power-in jack is broken loose from the motherboard. Re-solder.
    *) The power switch has fallen off of its little circuit board. This is much more common than you’d think, sadly. (This won’t cause the unit to power down by itself but it will cause it to not power on.)
     
  2. stickweed

    stickweed Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    needs a resolder i think.
     
  3. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    search the forums, i have seen other people with the same problem so you may find some answers. You will probably have to search for a while with different terms to find it but if you can fix it i would say it is worth the effort.
     
  4. NHS2008

    NHS2008 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ever since i had this prob everyone started to have such prob.
     
  5. egnveirbi

    egnveirbi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Could a possible problem be voltage? When i bought it, the guy sent me a 4.5V power supply with it even though it takes a 8.5V. I am about to go to radioshack to test drive some power supplies so we will see.
     
  6. stickweed

    stickweed Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh man you were using 4.5V that's a problem.
     
  7. fq1234

    fq1234 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm having the exact same problem. I've been searching the board but haven't found a solution. Anyone have an idea?
     
  8. stickweed

    stickweed Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i thought i told you guys to resolder it. I had that problem where the power kept cutting out in the middle of a game.
     
  9. egnveirbi

    egnveirbi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bought an 8.5V normal power supply and it works great now. Good thing my problem was just the power supply.
     
  10. samanthal

    samanthal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where did you get the power supply from? radio shack? thank you greatly appreciated if you tell me
     
  11. samanthal

    samanthal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry for double posting but also, what is a resolder?
     
  12. egnveirbi

    egnveirbi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I bought it from EB Games, a chain of GameStop.
     
  13. StabMyBk

    StabMyBk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have that problem too, I've been searching for a way to fix it all day.
     

Share This Page