1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 Swap Magic Compatibility with EA SPORTS GAMES

Discussion in 'PS2' started by ooga, Jun 24, 2004.

1. ooga

ooga Member

having just purchased Swap Magic 2.0 and a slide card for my european PS2, i'm having trouble getting it to work with my ea sports baseball game, which i purchased while in the states.

i would like to know if the swap magic version i have is compatible with this game, and if there is any other problem that i might encounter.

i have checked elsewhere in this forum for an answer, and being a newbie, i haven't found the answer that i'm looking for.

facts:
    the game is ea sports "mvp baseball 2004," purchased in the us, NTSC, dvd rom.
    my ps2 is a version 9 - european PAL.
    swap magic 2.0 dvd

description of problems:
    upon inserting the swap magic, i get the usual "insert disc" menu on the screen. as instructed, i then exchange that disc with mvp baseball 2004. i push the tray back in, then use the slide card as instructed in order to move the pin to the left. in this phase, i have had difficulty using the slide card (i am not sure if i am successfully hooking the pin because there seems to be a lot of resistance and i don't want to damage the machine), but either way, when i close the tray all the way and remove the slide card, and thereafter press 'x,' the playstation seems to stall. it hems and haws a lot as if it is having difficulty reading the disc. at the same time, nothing changes on the screen - it still says insert disc. the sound of the playstation trying to read the disc continues until i give up on it, usually about a minute, and then i press re-set in order to start over.

having read other entries in afterdawn, i was inspired to try pressing the 'square' button instead of the 'x,' and other times the select button, but the result is always the same.