1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 - Swap Magic (Originals), HDLoader (Burned), 120g HD, etc

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by emrmc, Nov 12, 2004.

  1. emrmc

    emrmc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, so I am trying to figure out all this, I read thru like 500 pages on this forum among others, great work by some dedicated ps2 users.

    Here is my situation. I have non-mod ps2 v1 (old school. I just bought a network adapter, d/led HDLoader/Advance (burned to cd-r), added a 120g HD Maxtor. I have on order being shipped to me Swap Magic 3.0 Original Discs and Slide Card tool, I ordered this first because I thought I needed this to play back up games. Which I guess is true if I use the Swap method. I am really trying not to use the swap method at all in the end and just have my games on my new HDD. Anyways....

    1. After, trying to load the HDLoader discs, I now understand you need the original HDloader/HDAdvance discs and can not use a burnt copy. However, can I use the burnt copies once I get Swap Magic? I am guessing I would put in SMD first then use the slide card, then put in the HD loader burned disc? Will this work?

    2. If this does work does the SMD allow me to install a MC exploit so I can save a HDLoader Elf file so I don;'t need to do a swap all the time?

    Just trying to figure this all out. Thanks to anyone who repsonds.

    emrmc
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    1. yes, but you also need cd loader (don't worry, its free), http://www.swapmagicfix.com
    2. yes, you can install the exploit with swap magic, which will make it a lot easier to load hd loader.
     
  3. Blahness

    Blahness Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey,

    Yeah, im in the exact same situation as you, same setup and equipment too.

    In addition to this, i was just wondering if there was a way to do the mem. card exploit WITHOUT using ar max or anything like that. Can i just d/l the file from somewhere and then stick it on my pen drive? or is it more complicated than that. All the threads i've read so far say I need to use ARmax. Basically i'm looking for a workaround (i dont wanna spend any more money.)
     
  4. emrmc

    emrmc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the response. I am sure I will have more questions once I get all my stuff together ie the Swapmagic arrives.

    1. To do the MC exploit do I need a USB Drive or can I burn the elf file on to a CD-R and install that way? Do I need a PS1 game?or is this just if I didn't have SMD?

    2. The order of things to get HD Loader to work is this. 1. SMD boot up in PS2, slide card swap to CD Loader Slide Card Swap to HD Loader. Then mY HDD games should work?

    Thanks,
    Erick
     
  5. hutchy

    hutchy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a cracked version of HDLoader which i downloaded and burned to CD-R and I've managed to boot it via the Swap Magic cd v 3.00 by pressing square and not having to use CDLoader.
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You can burn it to cd-r. you use swap magic to install the exploit and a ps1 game to run the exploit.
     

Share This Page