1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PS2 V4(w/ GAP) just installed magic3.1, but only goes to browser/SYS Configuation screen, HELP!!

Discussion in 'PS2' started by mingsky, May 17, 2003.

1. mingsky

mingsky Guest

cos i am a new modchip installer, so
    plz help me out.
    my problem now:
    after installed magic3.1, it only goes to the browser/ system configuation screen, when i insert orginal or ps1/ps2 backup,
    question: what is this mean when i am able to see this screen? ( is that mean i can go back to the orginal PS2 if i remove the chip off )
    thx alot

2. EviLAnGeL

EviLAnGeL Guest

V4 PS2's are notoriously bad for this. Anything before a V5 is usually not worth the trouble when it comes to Magic's. I've tried 3 with the Magic 3.1 and diferent media different speeds etc and none have worked, yet the strange thing is a guarantee that you can mod it with a Neo 2.2 and use the swap disc method and it will work. Something to do with Neo 2.2 amplifying the laser I think. Take the chip out and it should all work as normal.

You could try tweaking the laser but only do this with a multimeter or VERY carefully by manual adjustment or you may find it won't even read originals. Personally I'd take the chip out get rid of the V4 and get a V7 or at least a V5 and put the chip back in.

3. L-dubb

L-dubb Regular member

I have to disagree. I did a V4 3.1 today and it works w/ no problems. I have put messiah 2, and DMS3's in a V4 and havent had a problem. If the system passes my tests before I install the chip then I know all will be fine. Something must be wrong, do originals play but back ups do not? Do a full test w/ back ups and originals of both ps1 and ps2 games and let me know what happens.

4. EviLAnGeL

EviLAnGeL Guest