1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ps2 v9 problem with dms4 se lite

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by phoball, Jan 29, 2007.

  1. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello. help/diagnosis with my ps2 would be much appreciated.
    so yea i installed a dms4 se lite mod chip to my v9. it has been working great for 7 months up until now. my ps2 will not read any type of disc, official or backups or movie. when i insert a disc, the ps2 takes a while to think then brings me to the menu where you chose browser or configuration. when i go to browser, it says disk read error or sometimes just keep trying to read the disc. i can tell you that when this is happening i could hear screeching sounds (when trying to read the disc) which i have no clue why its making that sound. also i opened up the ps2 to see if there were any loose wires or what not but everything is fine. since i had an additional laser. i swapped it (but still kept the disc tray), and it still doesnt read games and still makes same screeching noise. i still can go to the dms4 menu.
    i have not tried to take the chip out to see if it works without the chip.
    so can anybody help.

    thanks alot
     
  2. Joshewah

    Joshewah Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sounds like read errors. V9 and V10 PS2s are notorious for read errors. Did you perform the the 5 volt (Romeo) mod? I had a V9 and fried the LA chip because I didn't perform the mod to regulate voltage. The PS2 was trying too hard to read my media and upped its voltage so high that it fizzled itself.
     
  3. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    whoa. didnt know that. thats so gay. does this mean both of the lasers are fked up now? so exactly what is the Romeo 5V mod and how do i do it? and if i do it, things should work again? what is the LA chip? im guessing that Romeo created this mod and i guess the voltage is too high so you add resistors or something? haha just a guess.

    in the meantime. i will look into the Romeo mod.

    thanks for the help
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2007
  4. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so yea i found out how to do the romeo mod and did it from the instructions on the site listed below. my ps2 doesnt screech anymore but i still get a disc read error. im guessing that my laser is fried??
    im am very very sad.
    i disabled the mod chip with the romeo mod and inserted an official psx game and it still cant read the disc.


    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/laserV9.htm
     
  5. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry buddy, I think your laser might have fried! On the plus side, you can probably get a replacement laser and have it up and running again.
     
  6. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    @raiderj

    he did mention that he had a replacement laser that he also tested it with. Assuming the replacement is a known working laser and of the same type that was originally in this console, it sounds to me like a blown LA chip.

    @phoball

    A blown LA can be tricky to diagnose. Unlike a blown BA chip when an LA goes bad the console will still turn on and eject and all that good stuff, but the laser wont work even when swapped with a known good working laser. Performing the Romeo mod after the LA has gone bad will not do jack for you, as the LA is still damaged. Often time when the LA goes bad so do the coils on the laser. If you have a DVM you can test the coils on your laser, they should both read about 5-6 ohms, anything under that will suggest a bad coil.

    If the LA is bad it can be replaced with a new LA. An LA replacement is not an easy repair for an average installer. I have replaced a few now and had great results doing so, but I wouldn't recommend this kind a repair to be executed by many, you may end up doing more damage.

    1) Be sure you have a known working laser.
    2) Test your coils for there ohm value.
    3) If you have a "good" laser that works in a different console but no the one being discussed here this would suggest a bad LA.

    I hope you can get it figured out.
     
  7. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think I have a PS2 with this problem as well (looked at my junk pile last night). I tried swapping out with a good laser, but it wouldn't read discs. However, the system boots just fine, audio/video works, controllers work, etc. If I remember correctly I kept it thinking maybe something like the LA chip could be replaced.

    Couple questions @ ps2modgod:

    - Could there be another chip that could be blown? You mentioned the BA chip.

    - Would an LA chip from another motherboard work fine as a replacement LA chip?

    - What was your process for replacing the LA chip? Did you use any of the replacement chips available at some of the online stores?


    Hopefully this will help phoball too!
     
  8. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks dude.

    is there a way to test coils without opening the laser components up.

    the laser i did switch it with was a working one and also the same model V9. so yea, i ordered a LA chip. hopefully it will come in by next week and hopefully things work normally again assuming i install it good. taking the damn la chip was difficult enough cuz of that big leg. 15 dollars for the replacement is not that bad compared to buying another used ps2 at 90-99 and doing everything over again.


    thanks again for the input
     
  9. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    UPDATE!!!
    so i installed a new LA chip. i am 100 %sure i installed it right. my ps2 now will only play cd disc, offical games and burnt games. BUT it cant read any type of DVD media. i do not get the red screeen. i get a black screen and in white letters its says "unable to read the disc" can some give me a solution to the new problem? i dont think it is a bad laser or anything.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  10. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    another update!
    i switched in another laser and my ps2 finally works. i hope with the romeo mod now installed and new la chip it will last fovever.
    by the way, installing the la chip was very very easy in my opinion although it did look like a bitch to do.
    thanks for peopole that gave me hlep
     
  11. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That's great!

    Quick question - my v9 PS2 doesn't read discs even with a good laser, so I'm thinking it's the same issue you have.

    Where did you purchase the LA chip? Is the BA chip something different, or does a system have a BA or an LA chip?
     
  12. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    If you have a V9 you will need a LA, the BA will not work for you.

    Have a look here for the LA chip

    http://ps2parts.com/parts.html

     
  13. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Sorry I didnt reply to this sooner.

    -The BA is the laser driver for the V1-V8 PS2's. V9-V11's use the LA. V12's and up use a whole new bread of driver called an RS.

    -Yes an LA chip from another mobo with with as a replacement, of course as long as its known to be good.

    -There are two ways to remove the LA and replace it. The professional way is with a SMD hot air rework station. The second would be to cut the LA's chip legs with a razor blade carefully as to not damage any of the tracks below. Once they have all been cut you can remove the LA then unsolder the remaining chip legs one by one with a standard soldering iron.
     
  14. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yea if you want to replace the la chip, i did the second method mentioned by ps2 modgod. i carefully used a razor blade to cut off the legs. then i tinned all the pads and put the new la chip in. i got my LA chip from mod-chip.com every customer of that website have access to the manuals they put up for all the modchips and whatnot. they have a manual on how to replace the la chip. its just as how i did it but they got pictures. i got it for 19 bucks with shipping. they are based in germany or austria so it took about 2 weeks to get it.
    btw, does anyone no why my other laser could only play cd media and not dvd media?
     
  15. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    The PS2 laser actually has to sides, a CD side and a DVD side. Its not uncommon for one side or the other to go out and the other side remains working. The DVD side is normally the first to go since the majority of PS2 games a DVD based.
     
  16. peteman1

    peteman1 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can anyone help with my dms4 e.zi light. It was working fine for a few months but i have lost the memory card and want to know if this is one of the reasons?? Opened the ps2 to see if everything was still connected an it was. Any suggestions?
     
  17. phoball

    phoball Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you gotta be more specific like ...my ps2 brwoser screen shows but...

    anyway the memory card has nothing to do with it, i think. you can play backup/imports without a memory card if a chip is installed. if the chip already works before, that means you already flashed the chip.
     

Share This Page